Staff Picks

Back row from left to right: McKenna, Curry, John, Mike and Donna
Front row from left to right: Chesli, Kaeleigh, Brenda (with Sir Benedict), and Brooke.


Want to know that the MBTB staff is reading and loving?  These are some titles that are loved by just about everyone at the store.  If you'd like to see staff picks for each member of the staff, click on the name of the staff member below.

Staff Friday Reads

McKenna Jordan

Brenda Jordan

John McDougall

Mike Wilson

Kaeleigh DeMeter

Brooke Kaiser

Chesli Lobue

Donna Vass

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
The Fellowship of Puzzlemakers: A novel By Samuel Burr Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593470091
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - April 9th, 2024

In the vein of Richard Osman and Robert Thorogood, this poignant, challenging, ingenious novel will captivate and entertain you from beginning to end.  I loved it! - Brenda


Staff Pick Badge
The Antique Hunter's Guide to Murder: A Novel By C.L. Miller Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781668032008
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - February 6th, 2024

Wonderful debut novel! Freya, a former antique hunter, joins forces with her Aunt Carol to investigate the death of her estranged mentor, Arthur Crockleford. They follow clues left by the victim himself and find themselves racing against time to discover the truth before anyone else is killed.- Donna

A delightful novel filled with puzzle clues and an ingenious conclusion, I loved this debut! - Brenda


Staff Pick Badge
The Wishing Game: A Novel By Meg Shaffer Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593598856
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - March 26th, 2024

Years ago, a reclusive mega-bestselling children’s author quit writing under mysterious circumstances. Suddenly he resurfaces with a brand-new book and a one-of-a-kind competition, offering a prize that will change the winner’s life in this absorbing and whimsical novel.

This was one of my favorite things I read in 2023!  It's a love letter to the books we found as young readers, and how the lessons they taught can still help us today. I can't recommend it highly enough! - John 


The Marlow Murder Club: A Novel By Robert Thorogood Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728250519
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Poisoned Pen Press - May 3rd, 2022

Think a spunky Miss Marple…77-year-old Judith Potts lives on the banks of the River Thames.  She’s a crossword puzzle creator, loves jigsaws, crosswords, whiskey and swimming (in the nude) in the River Thames, daily.  One evening, Judith was swimming and heard (coming from a neighbor’s property) a plea, and then a gunshot.  She had witnessed a murder.  

When police are less than willing to share information with Judith, she decides she’ll solve the murder herself.  Aided by a local dog-walker, Suzie, and the vicar’s wife Becks, Judith is unstoppable.  

Delightful!  A perfect easy summer read - witty, well-crafted and fun! - Brenda


The Thursday Murder Club: A Novel (A Thursday Murder Club Mystery #1) By Richard Osman Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984880987
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - August 3rd, 2021

A New York Times bestseller | Soon to be a major motion picture from Steven Spielberg at Amblin Entertainment

“Witty, endearing and greatly entertaining.” —Wall Street Journal
 


How to Solve Your Own Murder: A Novel By Kristen Perrin Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593474013
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton - March 26th, 2024

A Jimmy Fallon’s Book Club Finalist for 2024

AN INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER

A GMA Buzz Pick!

One of Amazon's Top 10 Best Books of April, One of Jimmy Fallon's favorite books for Spring 2024,
The Top LibraryReads pick for March 2024, A Publishers Marketplace 2024 BuzzBook


Staff Pick Badge
The Puzzle Master: A Novel By Danielle Trussoni Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593595312
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - March 19th, 2024

Mike Brink is a genius when it comes to puzzles. Jess Price hasn't spoken since she was arrested for murder, but she's drawn a seemingly impossible puzzle. When the two come together they find themselves in the middle of a dangerous conspiracy.

A fun, fast-paced read perfect for fans of James Rollins, Steve Berry, or Dan Brown! - John