Sally's Staff Picks

Sally Woods at Murder By The Book since 2011

I read a bit of everything, so I've tried to include both old and new favorites. That said, my favorite genre is dystopian. Though,sometimes I think I read too much of it as I can get obsessed. Two of my favs are in this stack. ( I had to stop watching The Walking Dead when I started becoming too aware of my surroundings and looking for escape routes.)

Other favorite authors are Kevin Brockmeier, whose writing makes me happy, and Marianne Wiggins whose Evidence of Things Unseen is possibly my favorite book of all time.

Mystery wise, Tana French has a wonderful Irish series. I always look forward to anything by Laura Lippman and Megan Abbott. I'm trying to catch up on women crime writers from the 40's and 50's, the collection here is incredible. David Joy. His writing will stop you in your tracks with its beauty.

Sally's 2020 Top 10:

In no particular in order

The Invisible Life of Addie Larue by V.E. Schwab
And Now She's Gone by Rachel Howell Hall
Catherine House by Elizabeth Thomas
The Last Flight by Julie Clark
I See You So Close by M Dressler
If It Bleeds by Stephen King
Firewatching by Russ Thomas
The End of October by Lawrence Wright
Survivor Song by Paul Tremblay
The Two Mrs Carlyles by Suzanne Rindell

Bonus Fun Book!
Behind the Horror: True Stories that Inspired Horror Movies by Lee Mellor

 

Check out Sally's Recommendations Playlist on the MBTB YouTube channel.

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765387561
Availability: Able to Backorder
Published: Tor Books - October 6th, 2020

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
USA TODAY BESTSELLER
NATIONAL INDIE BESTSELLER
THE WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER
#1 Indie Next PickOctober 2020

Recommended by Entertainment Weekly, Real Simple, NPR, Slate, and Oprah Magazine


And Now She's Gone: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250753175
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Forge Books - September 22nd, 2020

“Sharp, witty and perfectly paced, And Now She’s Gone is one hell of a read!” —Wendy Walker, bestselling author of The Night Before

Isabel Lincoln is gone.

But is she missing?


Catherine House: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062905659
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Custom House - May 12th, 2020

“[A] delicious literary Gothic debut.” –THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW, EDITORS' CHOICE

“Moody and evocative as a fever dream, Catherine House is the sort of book that wraps itself around your brain, drawing you closer with each hypnotic step.” – THE WASHINGTON POST


Staff Pick Badge
The Last Flight Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781728215723
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - June 23rd, 2020

The instant New York Times and USA Today bestseller


I See You So Close: The Last Ghost Series, Book Two Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781948924894
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arcade - March 17th, 2020

The dead and their secrets refuse to stay buried in this thrilling sequel to M. Dressler’s award-winning The Last to See Me, for fans of Lauren Oliver and Kazuo Ishiguro 
 
Emma Rose Finnis has never made peace with her death . . . or with her ghostly afterlife.


If It Bleeds Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781982137977
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - April 21st, 2020

From #1 New York Times bestselling author, legendary storyteller, and master of short fiction Stephen King comes an extraordinary collection of four new and compelling novellas—Mr. Harrigan’s Phone, The Life of Chuck, Rat, and the title story If It Bleeds—each pulling you into intriguing and frightening places.


Staff Pick Badge
Firewatching (A Detective Sergeant Adam Tyler Novel #1) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525542025
Availability: Able to Backorder
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 25th, 2020

"A pitch-perfect blend of the best of the old and the best of the new--all the traditional strengths and charms are here, with a fresh and relevant twenty first-century edge. I loved it."--Lee Child


The End of October: A novel Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780525658658
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - April 28th, 2020

“An eerily prescient novel about a devastating virus that begins in Asia before going global . . . A page-turner that has the earmarks of an instant bestseller.” New York Post
 


Survivor Song: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062679161
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - July 7th, 2020

“Fresh and surprising. Survivor Song may be one of Tremblay’s best— beautifully detailed, viscerally frightening, and deep with emotional resonance."  —Dan Chaon, New York Times bestselling author of Ill Will


Staff Pick Badge
The Two Mrs. Carlyles Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525539209
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - July 28th, 2020

A wonderful, sometimes spooky, story about three  young women in the early 1900's trying to start new lives.  Afterc oming  into wealth after the 1906 earthquake, the story really takes off.   Violet marries Harry Carlyle and none of their lives are quite the same.   I throughly  enjoyed The Two Mrs Carlyles

Definitely for fans of Rebecca. - Sally


Staff Pick Badge
Behind the Horror: True Stories That Inspired Horror Movies Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781465492388
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: DK - July 28th, 2020

This book has the origin stories of all your favorite scary movies, including  Psycho, The Exorcist, The Amityville Horror, The Silence of the Lambs and Scream. Just  to name a few.  A great book to have on your bedside table. - Sally