Sally's Staff Picks

Sally Woods at Murder By The Book since 2011

I read a bit of everything, so I've tried to include both old and new favorites. That said, my favorite genre is dystopian. Though,sometimes I think I read too much of it as I can get obsessed. Two of my favs are in this stack. ( I had to stop watching The Walking Dead when I started becoming too aware of my surroundings and looking for escape routes.)

Other favorite authors are Kevin Brockmeier, whose writing makes me happy, and Marianne Wiggins whose Evidence of Things Unseen is possibly my favorite book of all time.

Mystery wise, Tana French has a wonderful Irish series. I always look forward to anything by Laura Lippman and Megan Abbott. I'm trying to catch up on women crime writers from the 40's and 50's, the collection here is incredible. David Joy. His writing will stop you in your tracks with its beauty.

Sally's 2019 Top "10":

1. The Testaments by Margaret Atwood
2. Lady in the Lake by Laura Lippman
3. The Butterfly Girl by Rene Denfeld
4. We Were Killers Once by Becky Masterman
5. The River by Peter Heller
6. Curious Toys by Elizabeth Hand
7. The Institute by Stephen King
8. Theme Music by T. Marie Vandelly
9. Tear it Down by Nick Petrie
10. A Cosmology of Monsters by Shaun Hamill
11. Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger

Favorite Short Story Collections:
Full Throttle by Joe Hill
Growing Things by Paul Tremblay

Favorite Re-Reads

A Grave Talent by Laurie R. King
Salem's Lot by Stephen King
An Elderly Lady is Up to No Good by Helene Turnsten

The Testaments: The Sequel to The Handmaid's Tale Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385543781
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nan A. Talese - September 10th, 2019

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE

The Testaments is a modern masterpiece, a powerful novel that can be read on its own or as a companion to Margaret Atwood’s classic, The Handmaid’s Tale.


Lady in the Lake: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062390011
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - July 23rd, 2019

A New York Times Bestseller!


Staff Pick Badge
The Butterfly Girl: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062698162
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - October 1st, 2019

“A heartbreaking, finger-gnawing, and yet ultimately hopeful novel by the amazing Rene Denfeld.” —Margaret Atwood, via Twitter


We Were Killers Once: A Thriller (Brigid Quinn Series #4) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250074522
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - June 4th, 2019

"Former FBI agent Brigid Quinn, with her trademark toughness, raw humor, and human frailty, is back and better than ever in Masterman’s latest novel. As Quinn is drawn into an infamous cold case with a possible link to the two killers immortalized by Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood, she finds danger closing in.


The River: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525521877
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - March 5th, 2019

A NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"A fiery tour de force… I could not put this book down. It truly was terrifying and unutterably beautiful." –Alison Borden, The Denver Post

From the best-selling author of The Dog Stars, the story of two college students on a wilderness canoe trip--a gripping tale of a friendship tested by fire, white water, and violence


Curious Toys Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316485883
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mulholland Books - October 15th, 2019

An intrepid young woman stalks a murderer through turn-of-the-century Chicago in "this rich, spooky, and atmospheric thriller that will appeal to fans of Henry Darger and Erik Larson alike." (Sarah McCarry)


The Institute: A Novel Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781982110567
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - September 10th, 2019

A NEW YORK TIMES 100 NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2019 SELECTION

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King, the most riveting and unforgettable story of kids confronting evil since It.

In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis’s parents and load him into a black SU


Theme Music: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781524744700
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton - July 23rd, 2019

An utterly propulsive and unpredictable psychological thriller from stunning new talent T. Marie Vandelly.

She didn't run from her dark past. She moved in. 
 


Staff Pick Badge
Tear It Down (A Peter Ash Novel #4) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399575686
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - May 28th, 2019

In the new edge-of-your-seat adventure from national bestselling author Nick Petrie, Peter Ash pursues one case--and stumbles into another--in the City of the Blues.


A Cosmology of Monsters: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781524747671
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pantheon - September 17th, 2019

"If John Irving ever wrote a horror novel, it would be something like this. I loved it.” —Stephen King

Noah Turner sees monsters.

His father saw them—and built a shrine to them with The Wandering Dark, an immersive horror experience that the whole family operates.


Ordinary Grace: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781451645859
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - March 4th, 2014

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
WINNER OF THE 2014 EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL
WINNER OF THE 2014 DILYS AWARD
A SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL BEST BOOK OF 2013


From New York Times bestselling author William Kent Krueger, a brilliant new novel about a young man, a small town, and murder in the summer of 1961.

“That was it.


Full Throttle: Stories Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062200679
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - October 1st, 2019

New York Times Bestseller!

In this masterful collection of short fiction, Joe Hill dissects timeless human struggles in thirteen relentless tales of supernatural suspense, including “In The Tall Grass,” one of two stories co-written with Stephen King and the basis for the terrifying feature film from Netflix.


Growing Things and Other Stories Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062679130
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - July 2nd, 2019

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK

"One of the best collections of the 21st century." — Stephen King


A Grave Talent: A Novel (A Kate Martinelli Mystery #1) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250046550
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - January 7th, 2014

THE EDGAR AWARD-WINNING NOVEL
THE FIRST KATE MARTINELLI MYSTERY


'Salem's Lot Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780345806796
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - September 24th, 2013

Ben Mears has returned to Jerusalem’s Lot in hopes that exploring the history of the Marsten House, an old mansion long the subject of rumor and speculation, will help him cast out his personal devils and provide inspiration for his new book.