Rebecca's Staff Picks

Rebecca Minnock, at Murder By The Book since 2018

I had to include my 2 all time favorites - Harper Lee's To Kill A Mockingbird, and Louis de Bernière's Captain Corelli's Mandolin, both of which I have read so many times I have had to replace my original copies. Same goes for the Harry Potter series, which I am now re-reading with my daughter.

I honestly read a bit of everything, mystery is definitely my preferred genre. Reading Peter James and the Lee Child Reacher books is like catching up with an old friend for me.

I have read almost all of the Ben Elton books, and laughed out loud each time. The Nightingale was one that left me with the ultimate book hangover, I could not stop thinking about the characters and what happened to them after the book finished for ages after reading, the same goes for King's 11.22.63, I think they are both books I have told everyone to read at some stage.

Barclay and Morton, whilst totally different, both have me hooked by the end of the first chapter or 2, and I will never not pick up their newest releases!

Rebecca's 2019 Top "10"

Top book of the year: The Chain by Adrian McKinty

In no particular order...

Thirteen by Steve Cavannagh
Run Away by Harlan Coben
The Stranger Diaries by Elly Griffiths
The Night Agent by Matthew Quirk
Judgment by Joseph Finder
City of Windows by Robert Pobi
Stone Cold Heart by Caz Frear
The Chestnut Man by Soren Sveistrup
Your House Will Pay by Steph Cha
The Whisper Man by Alex North

Middle Grade Readers:
A Girl Called Justice by Elly Griffiths
The Book Wanderers by Anna James

Staff Pick Badge
The Blaze Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399176098
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - January 21st, 2020

Matthew Rose, discharged from the army with a brain injury, returns to Montana after the death of his father.

His first night back, a house is burned down and what follows is a perfectly written, intricate plot which brings back buried secrets from Matt's past. Secrets someone would kill to keep hidden.

You are not going to want to miss this one! - Rebecca

Signed copies available!


Staff Pick Badge
Hide Away Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781542005906
Availability: Backordered
Published: Thomas & Mercer - March 1st, 2020

This is a fantastic start to Pinter's Rachel Marin series!

Single mom to 2 kids, Rachel has a past she wants to keep hidden. After the body of the former Mayor of Ashby is found, Rachel ends up inserted in the middle of the investigation, desperately trying to get justice for the murdered woman.

Rachel's character is SO well written, and the snippets into her past gave just so much insight into her, I was desperate to know more about her past.

Heart stopping, thrilling, tense...I think this series is going to fast become a must read! - Rebecca


Staff Pick Badge
A Conspiracy of Bones (A Temperance Brennan Novel #19) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982138882
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - March 17th, 2020

Temperance Brennan is being frozen out of her role in Charlotte, NC, thanks to Larabee's replacement, Dr Margot Heavner. At the same time, Brennan is also recovering from neurosurgery for an aneurysm, and suffering from migraines and hallucinations...

A body is found, and Brennan anonymously receives photos of the corpse - a case she has not been invited to work on. So Brennan does what she does best, and with the help of Slidell, they investigate. As they discover more information, their investigation takes a darker turn. But for Brennan, she has to figure out what is real and what is not.

Fantastic addition to the Temperance Brennan series!


Staff Pick Badge
Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valor Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358003199
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - March 3rd, 2020

The Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valor will make you gasp, laugh and keep guessing until the very end. 

Carter is an absolute master at what she does. The characters are wonderful, and April makes so spectacular protagonist. I was absolutely cheering for her and her new found family by the end.

This is a must-read middle grade, fully of mystery and suspense, that is going to see lots of children reading past their bedtimes! - Rebecca

Signed copies available!


Staff Pick Badge
Agent Lion Cover Image
By Jacky Davis, David Soman (Illustrator), David Soman
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062869173
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - February 4th, 2020

I love Agent Lion because I do! It's very funny and Agent Lion went the long way when he should have taken a short cut, he loves finding jelly donuts but he isn't a very good detective because he can't find Mr Fluffy but then he heard purrrrr and found him again. - Seán (Rebecca's son, age 4)


Staff Pick Badge
Without Sanction (A Matt Drake Thriller #1) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984805119
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - March 3rd, 2020

Defence Intelligence Agent Matt Drake - on a mission to Syria to rescue a captured American - is drawn into a political game of cat and mouse.

While Drake is focused on his own task, the presidential election is days away, and there are political advisors who will do anything they can to ensure the outcome they want.

Action packed from start to finish, Drake is a sensationally good protagonist, and this is a superb debut from Bentley that I think is going to take him far.

Perfect for fans of Jack Reacher, Matt Drake is going to be your new favorite! - Rebecca