Our Spring Read-A-Like Recommendations Guide

Staff Pick Logo
A Killer in King's Cove (Lane Winslow Mystery #1) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781771511988
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Touchwood Editions - October 4th, 2016

If you like Maise Dobbs...

It's post WWII and ex-intelligence officer Lane Winslow has left London for greener pastures. She  settles in King's Cove, a small village in the heart of British Columbia, Canada. But, her idyllic existence is soon shattered when a murdered man is discovered on Lane's property; local Police Inspector Darling and his sidekick Sergeant Ames are tasked with solving the crime. Winslow and the close knit cast of characters give this "first" in the series the feel of a Maisie Dobbs.  I think it's destined to be a favorite here at MBTB.

— Brenda


Staff Pick Logo
The Italian Teacher Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780735222694
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - March 20th, 2018

If you liked A Gentleman in Moscow...

When I am haunted by a book for weeks after I read it, I know it's something special. Not since I read A Gentleman In Moscow have I been so touched. This book is the story of Pinch, the son of a world-renown artist;  a story of a little boy's love for his father;  a story of family, art, legacy, and devotion.

The Italian Teacher defies more description...just get it!!! It's #1 on my 2018 Top Ten List...and I believe it's there to stay!!  My highest recommendation! — Brenda


Staff Pick Logo
The Last Place You Look: A Mystery (Roxane Weary #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250181305
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - May 1st, 2018

If you like Sara Paretsky...

P.I. Roxane Weary is troubled, on the way to washed up, and likes to drink. Roxane is hired by the sister of a death row inmate who thinks she has seen Sarah Cook who went missing fifteen years ago; whose family her brother is accused of murdering.  Reluctantly taking the case, Roxane finds herself going down a rabbit hole of other missing girls and trying to determine if they are all the work of the same person. Roxane is a great flawed character, you're rooting for her to get her act together as she finally starts figuring out the case.  Also, a strong start to a series (the second has just come out)! — Sally


Staff Pick Logo
A Death of No Importance: A Mystery Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250152978
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - April 10th, 2018

If you like Downton Abbey...

I really enjoyed A Death of No Importance. Set in New York City in the early part of the 1900’s, the book follows Jane Prescott, a lady’s maid to awealthy family trying to ingratiate themselves into New York City high society.  Her mistress, Charlotte Benchley, claims she is engaged to a wealthy and sought after bachelor who is subsequently murdered on the night that Charlotte believes their engagement will be announced, and Jane decides to solve the murder.  My favorite part of the book was Mariah Fredericks’ attention to detail with respect to both the characters and the setting. New York City comes alive as do the characters; Fredericks clearly did her research, and her efforts pay off significantly.  I highly recommend this entertaining read and hope there will be another book starring Jane Prescott.  — Cindy


I'll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer Cover Image
By Michelle McNamara, Gillian Flynn (Introduction by), Patton Oswalt (Afterword by)
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062319784
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - February 27th, 2018

If you like The Stranger Beside Me by Ann Rule...

Highly recommended by Sally!!!

 


Staff Pick Logo
Proving Ground (Lourdes Robles Novels #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250117465
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - March 6th, 2018

If you like Michael Connelly...

Proving Ground is a razor sharp, fast-paced New York City procedural and a fantastic return to form for Blauner, who hasn't had a book out in 10 years. When a high profile defense attorney is shot in an apparent car robbery, both the victims family and Detective Lourdes Robles suspect foul play. Complicating matters is the victims son, an Iraqi war vet with demons of his own. Blauner has a great ear for dialogue and character: Blauner's New York is vividly drawn with darkness and humor. The plot twists and turns, moving us effortlessly to the conclusion. Perfect for fans of Connelly, Coleman, and Lehane. — Sam


Staff Pick Logo
He Said/She Said Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250160546
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - April 24th, 2018

If you liked The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn...

Kit and Laura are eclipse chasers. They travel the world, taking part in eclipse-viewing festivals, seeking out the moment of the totality - when the moon completely covers the sun. It’s in the moments immediately following the totality in Cornwall, 1999, that they witness a man assaulting a woman. In that moment, they call for help, become witnesses for the woman, and in future years they help her in the legal battles against her assailant. Now, 15 years later, Kit and Laura are living in hiding - with assumed names, and running from their past. As time has gone by, Kit and Laura wonder if they trusted the right person. It was her word against his… Told in alternating voices between Kit and Laura, present and past, this slow burn of a thriller is an exquisitely compelling and well-written read. My highest recommendation! Also recommended by Sally and Brenda! — McKenna


Staff Pick Logo
Meet Your Baker: A Bakeshop Mystery (Bakeshop Mysteries) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250054234
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - December 30th, 2014

If you like Diane Mott Davidson...

Jules has spent the last few years working as a pastry chef on a cruise ship. Now that her marriage is on the skids, she's back at home helping her mom revivie Torte, they're family bakery. What I loved most about this is how much of an amateur Jules is. She doesn't already have stellar investigation skills. Perfect for Joanne Fluke or Diane Mott Davidson fans! - John 

 


Staff Pick Logo
The Girl in the Ice Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781910751770
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bookouture - January 29th, 2016

If you like M.J. Arlidge...

The first book in the Detective Erika Foster series finds killings in and around London parks, where women's bodies are being found frozen under ice. Back on duty after an almost career-ending event, Erika has a lot to prove as she begins to connect the dots...and her superiors dismiss her theory. The killer is still out there, and he's closing in on Erika. Although Erika is not without her own unique issues, I couldn't help but want the best for her.  I'm definitely looking forward to her next adventure. — Brenda


Staff Pick Logo
A Siege of Bitterns: Birder Murder Mystery 1 Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781786074263
Availability: Special Order
Published: ONEWorld Publications - February 6th, 2018

If you like M.C. Beaton's Hamish Macbeth...

Celebrated Canadian Domenic Jejeune, recently arrived to the Norfolk area of England, has newly been appointed to DCI of Saltmarsh.  An avid birder, Dom is more thrilled to be in the heart of Britain's premier birding county than being a detective. When an ecological activist/birder is found murdered, Jejeune's investigative reputation is put to the test.  Can the death be related to a competition involving birdwatching lists? — Brenda