New Paperbacks 11/13/2018

The Choir Director Wore Out
A Liturgical Mystery
by Mark Schweizer


" It was a dark and stormy night: the wind whistled like an old man with drugstore teeth trying to teach his grandkids to say, “She sells sea shells by the sea shore,” causing the little shavers to wonder why Peepaw was suddenly talking like Daffy Duck, whether he’d just had a stroke, and if any one of them was in the will."

So begins Police Chief Hayden Konig's final opus, The Profundo Wore Pantaloons. His writing skills have not improved (despite using Raymond Chandler's typewriter to bang out his hard-boiled prose), but his crime solving prowess is still first rate. He'll need it, since murder seems to abound in the little Appalachian town of St. Germaine, North Carolina.

St. Germaine is in a season of change: a couple of new shops have appeared on the square; the Great Smoky Mountain Renaissance Festival has just opened out at Camp Possumtickle; and St. Barnabas Church has a new priest, straight from France.
As well as having his Episcopal appointment from the bishop, Father Moneyduck is also a famous mystery author and detective. It's a good thing, because the police department has a raft of homicides on its hands with no end in sight. Of course, they do things a little differently in France …

Hayden Konig's 15th (and final!) mystery —
The Choir Director Wore Out
It’s not what you expect ...
it’s even funnier!


A Dangerous Duet: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062796967
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - November 6th, 2018

This dazzling new Victorian mystery from USA Today bestselling author Karen Odden introduces readers to Nell Hallam, a determined young pianist who stumbles upon the operations of a notorious—and deadly—crime ring while illicitly working as the piano player in a Soho music hall. Perfect for readers of Tasha Alexander, Anne Perry, and Deanna Raybourn.


Sacrifice: A Novel Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250297761
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - November 13th, 2018

Inspired by an ancient legend, Sharon Bolton's critically acclaimed debut follows the shocking investigation of a decades-long pattern of kidnapping and murder.


The Wife: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062390523
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Paperbacks - November 6th, 2018

"This year's Gone Girl."Harlan Coben

A Boston Globe Best Book of 2018 | A Sun-Sentinel Best Mystery Book of 2018 | A Crime Reads Best Novel of 2018

His Scandal
Her Secret


Daughters of the Lake Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781503901339
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lake Union Publishing - November 2018

The ghosts of the past come calling in a spellbinding heart-stopper from the "Queen of the Northern Gothic."


All of a Winter's Night (Merrily Watkins Mysteries #14) Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781782396987
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atlantic Books - February 2018

It begins in the fog, with a bleak village funeral. In the early hours of the following morning, Merrily Watkins and her daughter Jane are made aware that Aidan Lloyd, son of a wealthy farmer, will not be resting in peace. A rural tradition is displaying its sinister side as an old feud reignites.


Supernatural Sherlocks: Stories from The Golden Age of the Occult Detective Cover Image
By Nick Rennison (Editor)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781843449751
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Oldcastle Books - April 2018

The ghost of a poor Afghan returns to haunt the doctor who once amputated his hand. A mysterious and malignant force inhabits a room in an ancestral home and attacks all who sleep in it. A man who desecrates an Indian temple is transformed into a ravening beast. A castle in the Tyrol is the setting for an aristocratic murderer’s apparent resurrection.


An Uncommon Murder (Pan Heritage Classics) Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9781509858552
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pan Macmillan - July 2018

Alex Tanner is always on the lookout for work—mortgages on flats in Notting Hill do not come cheap, after all. So when TV producer Barty O'Neill mentions a particularly juicy assignment she jumps at the chance. Barty has been asked to investigate the shooting of Lord Sherwin, a famous society murder of the 1950s.


Death in Sunset Grove (Lavender Ladies Detective Agency #1) Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9781447289326
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pan Macmillan - June 2018

Meet Siiri and Irma, best friends and the queen bees of Sunset Grove, a retirement community for those still young at heart.


This Fallen Prey: A Rockton Novel (Casey Duncan Novels #3) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250294852
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - November 13th, 2018

The follow-up to #1 New York Times bestseller Kelley Armstrong’s acclaimed A Darkness Absolute.

In This Fallen Prey, the next installment of New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong’s thriller series, Casey Duncan is about to face her toughest job as police detective in Rockton yet.


Plaid and Plagiarism: The Highland Bookshop Mystery Series: Book 1 Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781681776194
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pegasus Books - January 2nd, 2018


First, Janet Marsh is told she'll have to wait before moving into her new home. Then she finds out the house has been vandalized. Again. The chief suspect? Una Graham, an advice columnist for the local paper--who's trying to make a name for herself as an investigative reporter.


The Quantum Spy: A Thriller Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393356243
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - November 6th, 2018

A hyper-fast quantum computer is the digital equivalent of a nuclear bomb; whoever possesses one will be able to shred any encryption and break any code in existence. The question is: who will build one first, the U.S. or China?