McKenna's Staff Picks

McKenna Jordan, Store Owner at Murder By The Book since 2003

Having read crime fiction almost exclusively for the last fifteen years at MBTB, this “staff stack” was incredibly challenging to narrow down. I decided to go with an approach of which books represent both my reading taste as well as my history - to this point - with the bookstore. Every one of this holds a special place in my heart and has a story to go along with it. 

I have a real respect for the genre and its icons, and I love unique characters. That’s basically all I can find as a thread of similarity throughout my reading taste. I’m happy to read across the genre as long as it’s well-written, and there’s nothing that beats a fresh new voice that grabs you from the first line. 
 

McKenna's 2017 Top 10 

1. The Child Finder by Rene Denfeld
2. He Said, She Said by Erin Kelly
3. Party Girls Die in Pearls by Plum Sykes
4. The Last Place You Look by Kristen Lepionka
5. The Vanishing Season by Joanna Schaffhausen (out 12/5)
6. The Address by Fiona Davis 
7. Swiss Vendetta by Tracee De Hahn  (signing 2/20)
8. Final Girls by Riley Sager 
9. The Marsh King's Daughter by Karen Dionne 
10. Mad by Chloe Esposito

Highly recommended collections:  
both edited by Lawrence Block

In Sunlight and In Shadow 
Alive in Shape and Color (out 12/5)

Staff Pick Logo
The Child Finder: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062659064
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - August 7th, 2018

My favorite book of 2017! - McKenna


Staff Pick Logo
Sweet Little Lies: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062823199
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - August 14th, 2018

In this gripping debut procedural, a young London policewoman must probe dark secrets buried deep in her own family’s past to solve a murder and a long-ago disappearance.

Your father is a liar. But is he a killer?
Even liars tell the truth . . . sometimes.


Staff Pick Logo
Social Creature: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385543521
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - June 5th, 2018

"Social Creature is a wicked original with echoes of the greats (Patricia Highsmith, Gillian Flynn)." —Janet Maslin, The New York Times

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City.


Sadie Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250105714
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Wednesday Books - September 4th, 2018

A New York Times bestseller!

4 Starred Reviews from Kirkus, School Library Journal, Booklist, Publishers Weekly!

"Sadie: a novel for readers of any age, and a character as indelible as a scar. Flat-out dazzling." A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window


The Awkward Squad Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781681440033
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: MacLehose Press - April 3rd, 2018

Officer Anne Capestan's team of misfits will have to work together to investigate a decades-old unsolved murder . . . and in the process uncover a trail of corruption that leads to the top of the Paris police force.

"Marvelous . . . An absorbing, sometimes laugh-out-loud mystery." --New York Journal of Book