William Kent Krueger

William Kent Krueger will sign and discuss This Tender Land (Atria; $27).

Raised in the Cascade Mountains of Oregon, William Kent Krueger briefly attended Stanford University—before being kicked out for radical activities. After that, he logged timber, worked construction, tried his hand at freelance journalism, and eventually ended up researching child development at the University of Minnesota. He currently makes his living as a full-time author. He’s been married for over 40 years to a marvelous woman who is a retired attorney. He makes his home in St. Paul, a city he dearly loves.

Krueger writes a mystery series set in the north woods of Minnesota. His protagonist is Cork O’Connor, the former sheriff of Tamarack County and a man of mixed heritage—part Irish and part Ojibwe. His work has received a number of awards, including the Minnesota Book Award, the Loft-McKnight Fiction Award, the Anthony Award, the Barry Award, the Dilys Award, and the Friends of American Writers Prize. His last five novels were all New York Times bestsellers.

Ordinary Grace, his stand-alone novel published in 2013, received the Edgar Award, given by the Mystery Writers of America in recognition for the best novel published in that year. Windigo Island, number fourteen in his Cork O’Connor series, was released in August 2014 and was chosen by Amazon.com as one the best books of the year.

Our in-store talk/readings are free. However, if you want to get anything signed, the author's newest book must be purchased from Murder By The Book. Our signing policies can be found here

Event date: 

Saturday, September 14, 2019 - 4:30pm

Event address: 

2342 Bissonnet St
Houston, TX 77005
This Tender Land: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781476749297
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Atria Books - September 3rd, 2019

For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace.


Desolation Mountain: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series #17) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501147470
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - April 16th, 2019

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Edgar Award-winning author William Kent Krueger delivers another heart-pounding thriller filled with “dynamic action scenes” (The New York Times) as Cork O’Connor and his son Stephen work together to uncover the truth behind the death of a senator on Desolation Mountain and the mysterious disappearances of


Desolation Mountain: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series #17) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501147463
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - August 21st, 2018

New York Times bestselling author William Kent Krueger delivers yet another “punch-to-the-gut blend of detective story and investigative fiction” (Booklist, starred review) as Cork O’Connor and his son Stephen work together to uncover the truth behind the tragic plane crash of a senator on Desolation Mountain and the mysterious disappearances of several first res


Sulfur Springs: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series #16) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501147432
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - June 5th, 2018

New York Times bestselling author William Kent Krueger showcases his talent “creating strong characters, building drama and conflict, braiding in Indian legend and spirituality, and spinning a good yarn” (Minneapolis Star Tribune) in this a vivid and pulse-pounding thriller that follows Cork O’Connor’s search for a missing man amid the fraught tensions at the


Manitou Canyon: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series #15) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781476749273
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - May 2nd, 2017

In the extraordinary new Cork O’Connor thriller from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award–winning author William Kent Krueger, the lives of hundreds of innocent people are at stake when Cork vanishes just days before his daughter’s wedding.

Since the violent deaths of his wife, father, and best friend all occurred in previous Novembers, Cork O’Connor has


Iron Lake: A Novel (Cork O'Connor Mystery Series #1) Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781439157282
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Atria Books - June 9th, 2009

“A brilliant achievement, and one every crime reader and writer needs to celebrate.” —Louise Penny, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Glass Houses

“A master craftsman [and] a series of books written with a grace and precision so stunning that you’d swear the stories were your own.” —Craig Johnson, author of the Walt Lo