Peter Swanson

Peter Swanson will sign and discuss Eight Perfect Murders (William Morrow; $27.99).

Peter Swanson is the author of five novels, including The Kind Worth Killing, winner of the New England Society Book Award, and finalist for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger, Her Every Fear, an NPR book of the year; and his most recent, Before She Knew Him. His books have been translated into over 30 languages, and his stories, poetry, and features have appeared in Asimov’s Science FictionThe Atlantic MonthlyMeasureThe GuardianThe Strand Magazine, and Yankee Magazine.

A graduate of Trinity College, the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, and Emerson College, he lives in Somerville, Massachusetts with his wife and cat.

Event date: 

Thursday, March 12, 2020 - 6:30pm

Event address: 

2342 Bissonnet St.
Houston, TX 77005
Staff Pick Badge
Eight Perfect Murders: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062838209
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - March 3rd, 2020

Malcolm Kershaw, the owner of a specialty crime fiction bookstore in Boston, has published a blog post about eight classic mysteries - landmarks of the genre. It seems harmless enough, except for the unfortunate coincidence that someone is killing people using plot devices from those books, and his blog post is the only thing that connects them. On a nasty, snowy night, Malcolm is visited by the FBI, needing his help to find the killer - or give away his own guilt. I loved this smart, compelling thriller that is tightly-plotted and witty - with bonus points for all the mystery bookseller experiences that Swanson hits right on the head! - McKenna


Malcolm Kerhsaw, mystery bookstore owner, wrote a blog entitled 'Eight Perfect Murders' - in which he listed what he thought of as the most brilliant murders in fiction - years ago and hasn't thought much about it since.

Until the day an FBI agent arrives at the store and tells him she thinks there could be a connection between his blog and some unsolved murders

Swanson has written an exceptionally clever plot, it will answer questions, but still leave the reader with more questions as it reaches it's finale. I can't wait to put this on my recommendation shelf! - Rebecca


Before She Knew Him: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062887559
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperLuxe - March 5th, 2019

Catching a killer is dangerous—especially if he lives next door


All the Beautiful Lies: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062427069
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - February 5th, 2019

From the acclaimed author of Her Every Fear and The Kind Worth Killing comes a diabolically clever tale of obsession, revenge, and cold-blooded murder—a sly and brilliant guessing game of a novel in the vein of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Patricia Highsmith.


Her Every Fear: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062427038
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - March 6th, 2018

Named a Best Book of 2017 by NPR

The author of the wildly popular The Kind Worth Killing returns with an electrifying and downright Hitchcockian psychological thriller—as tantalizing as the cinema classics Rear Window and Wait Until Dark—involving a young woman caught in a vise of voyeurism, betrayal, manipulation, and murder.