Debra H. Goldstein in conversation with Kay Kendall

Debra Goldstein will sign and discuss Two Bites Too Many ($7.99; Kensington).

Debra H. Goldstein is the author of the Sarah Blair Mysteries as well as Should Have Played Poker, a Carrie Martin and the Mah Jong Players Mystery and the 2012 IPPY Award-winning Maz in Blue, a mystery set on the University of Michigan’s campus. Her short stories and essays have been published in numerous periodicals and anthologies, including Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine. A judge, author, litigator, wife, step-mom and mother of twins, Debra is an involved community volunteer, MWA member, and serves as a national board member of Sisters in Crime, as well as being the SinC Guppy Chapter’s President.

Kay Kendall writes the Austin Starr mystery series, including Desolation Row and Rainy Day Women, which won two Silver Falchion awards at Killer NashvilleHer new book, After You’ve Gone, is a prequel featuring Austin’s grandmother in small-town Texas during Prohibition. A reformed PR executive who won international awards for her projects, Kendall lives in Houston, Texas, with her Canadian husband, three pet rabbits, and a bemused spaniel.

Event date: 

Saturday, January 4, 2020 - 4:30pm

Event address: 

2342 Bissonnet St.
Houston, TX 77005
Two Bites Too Many (A Sarah Blair Mystery #2) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781496719485
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Kensington - September 24th, 2019

Far from a domestic goddess, Sarah Blair would rather catch bad guys than slave over a hot stove. But when a dangerous murder boils over in Wheaton, Alabama, catching the killer means leaving her comfort zone …

One Taste Too Many (A Sarah Blair Mystery #1) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781496719478
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Kensington - December 18th, 2018

For culinary challenged Sarah Blair, there’s only one thing scarier than cooking from scratch—murder!

After You've Gone: An Austin Starr Mystery Prequel Cover Image
ISBN: 9781949267167
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Stairway Press - February 12th, 2019

In 1923 a small town's deadly secrets are about to be revealed by a sheltered, yet enterprising, young woman. Along with puzzling disappearances and lethal grudges, twenty-three-year-old Wallie uncovers it all.

Staff Pick Badge
Rainy Day Women Cover Image
ISBN: 9781941071175
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Stairway Press - May 26th, 2015

Kay Kendall's RAINY DAY WOMEN is the second book in the Austin Starr Mystery series. In 1969, during the week of the Manson murders and Woodstock, the intrepid amateur sleuth, infant in tow, flies across the continent to support a friend suspected of murdering women's liberation activists in Seattle and Vancouver. Then her former CIA trainer warns that an old enemy has contracted a hit on her.

Staff Pick Badge
Desolation Row Cover Image
ISBN: 9780985994211
Availability: Able to Backorder
Published: Stairway Press - March 5th, 2013

The flight to avoid the killing... It's 1968. The Cold War is hot, the Vietnam War is raging, and the women's movement is beating a far-distant drum. When Austin Starr's husband decides to protest the war by emigrating from Texas to Canada, she goes along, with the biblical dictate of "whither-thou-goest I will go" ringing in her ears. Leads to murder...