Cindy's Staff Picks

Cindy Burnett at Murder By The Book since 2018

My reading tastes span a wide range of genres: mysteries, historical fiction, literary fiction, memoirs, and engaging non-fiction. I love almost anything related to art, France, New York City, Golden Age Hollywood, the Gilded Age, Texas and World War 2. I enjoy C.J. Box’s mysteries because I always learn something fascinating about the environment or a current political issue, and I love Fiona Davis’s novels because she explores in-depth places like Grand Central Terminal and the Dakota. I will read anything written by Jacqueline Winspear, Susan Elia McNeal, Martin Walker, Michael Connelly, Kate Morton, and Elly Griffiths. They all create incredibly well-written, engaging stories.

Some of my recent non-mystery favorites have been News of the World, A Gentleman in Moscow, How to Walk Away, and Dear Fahrenheit 451. I even have a few books that I return to again and again: both Pride and Prejudice and Persuasion by Jane Austen and Robert Frost’s The Road Less Taken.

Cindy's 2018 Top 10

1. The Echo Killing by Christi Daughtery
2. Force of Nature by Jane Harper
3. Past Tense by Lee Child
4. The Woman in the Window by AJ Finn
5. Still Lives by Maria Hummel 
6. The Banker’s Wife by Cristina Alger
7. The Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware
8. The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton
9. Liar’s Candle by Thomas August
10. The Masterpiece by Fiona Davis

Discovery

Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton
Mycroft and Sherlock by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501170072
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - May 7th, 2019

This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertantly becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People)—for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.


The Clockmaker's Daughter: A Novel Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781451649413
Availability: Backordered
Published: Washington Square Press - May 21st, 2019

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“An ambitious, compelling historical mystery with a fabulous cast of characters…Kate Morton at her very best.” —Kristin Hannah

An elaborate tapestry…Morton doesn’t disappoint.” The Washington Post

"Classic English country-house Goth a


Staff Pick Badge
Still Lives Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781640092013
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Counterpoint LLC - June 4th, 2019

An official Reese's Book Club x Hello Sunshine selection, now in paperback

"It's a thrilling mystery that will leave you wondering which characters you can and can't trust . . . There's a twist at the end that still keeps us up at night, it's THAT good." ―Reese Witherspoon (A Reese's Book Club x Hello Sunshine Selection)


The Banker's Wife Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735218475
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - April 16th, 2019

A USA Today Bestseller

"Immersive, satisfying, tense--and timely: This is probably happening for real right now."--Lee Child

"First-rate...Slick, heart-hammering entertainment."--The New York Times Book Review


The Missing Corpse: A Brittany Mystery (Brittany Mystery Series #4) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250173362
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - April 23rd, 2019

"Roll over Maigret. Commissaire Dupin has arrived." —M.C. Beaton on Death in Brittany

"Very satisfying…along the lines of Martin Walker’s novels set in Dordogne, or M.L. Longworth’s Aix-en-Provence mysteries." —Booklist on Murder on Brittany Shores


The Missing Years Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399586958
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - April 23rd, 2019

The French Girl captivated readers with a twisting tale of psychological suspense. Now author Lexie Elliott heads to the foothills of the Scottish Highlands, where a woman's tangled family history comes back to haunt her...

An eerie, old Scottish manor in the middle of nowhere that's now hers.


Staff Pick Badge
The Night Before: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250198679
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - May 14th, 2019

A Today Show and New York Post Summer Reads Selection!

First dates can be murder.

"Ferociously smart." —AJ Finn
"Riveting." —Riley Sager
"Addictive." —Liv Constantine
"Wonderfully tense." —Aimee Molloy
"Irresistible." —Mary Kubica


Staff Pick Badge
A Beautiful Corpse: A Harper McClain Mystery Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250148872
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - March 12th, 2019

Christi Daugherty’s series starring crime reporter Harper McClain is a true standout in the mystery/thriller genre, and A Beautiful Corpse is a stellar addition to the series. The mysteries are clever and realistic, the Savannah setting is superb, and her writing is fabulous.  In A Beautiful Corpse, a law student who bartends at Harper’s local corner bar is murdered in the downtown historic district of Savannah.  As the city demands answers, Harper works to untangle the web of lies and jealousy that drove someone to kill Naomi Scott.  Meanwhile, her personal life is stressful as she struggles to keep her job as the newspaper faces another round of layoffs and she realizes that someone is watching her every move.  A Beautiful Corpse is a fabulous mystery that will make my top 10 for the year – it is that good. - Cindy


Transcription: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316176668
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - April 23rd, 2019

A dramatic story of WWII espionage, betrayal, and loyalty, by the #1 bestselling author of Life After Life


Our House Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780451489135
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - April 9th, 2019

One of The Washington Post's 10 Best Thrillers and Mysteries of the Year
One of Publishers Weekly's Best Books of the Year
One of Real Simple's Best Books of the Year


Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Man Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250105684
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - February 5th, 2019

A simply fabulous read! The book has everything - a great mystery, stellar characters, and a desolate, unforgiving setting. -- Cindy