Brooke's Staff Picks

Brooke Kaiser, at Murder By The Book since 2023

Brooke is a lifelong Houstonian who is happiest when surrounded by great books, fine wine, fresh black coffee and large animals, preferably at the same time. When she isn’t reading or sneaking new books into the house, Brooke can be found riding her horse, Lewis. 

Brooke’s favorite authors: Jo Nesbo, Elle Cosimano, Alice Feeney and Lucy Foley. 

Brooke's Top Reads of 2023:

When I’m Dead by Hannah Morrissey
Midnight is the Darkest Hour by Ashley Winstead
Triptych by Karin Slaughter
A Spinster’s Guide to Danger & Dukes by Manda Collins
Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Lord by Celeste Connally
Speak of the Devil by Rose Wilding
The Island by Ragnar Jónasson
Killing Moon by Jo Nesbo
Murder by Degrees by Ritu Mukerji
The Professor by Lauren Nossett

Staff Pick Badge
Midnight Is the Darkest Hour: A Novel By Ashley Winstead Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781728269962
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - October 3rd, 2023

From the critically acclaimed author of In My Dreams I Hold A Knife and The Last Housewife comes Midnight is the Darkest Hour, a gothic Southern thriller about a killer haunting a small Louisiana town, where two outcasts—the preacher's daughter and the boy from the wrong side of the tracks—hold the key to uncovering the truth.


When I'm Dead: A Black Harbor Novel (Black Harbor Novels #3) By Hannah Morrissey Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781250872340
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - October 31st, 2023

One girl murdered...another one missing...and a medical examiner desperate to uncover the truth in When I'm Dead, the latest Black Harbor mystery by acclaimed author Hannah Morrissey.


Triptych: A Will Trent Novel By Karin Slaughter Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780804180283
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dell - July 26th, 2016

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “Crime fiction at its finest.”—Michael Connelly

WATCH WILL TRENT ON ABC


A Spinster's Guide to Danger and Dukes (Ladies Most Scandalous #3) By Manda Collins Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538725573
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Forever - March 28th, 2023

A lady will do anything—even fake an engagement to the duke she despises—to save her sister in this fun and flirty historical rom-com from the bestselling author of A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem, perfect for fans of Evie Dunmore and Netflix's Bridgerton!
 
England, 1867: Miss Poppy Delamare is living a lie.


Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Lord: A Mystery (Lady Petra Inquires #1) By Celeste Connally Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781250867551
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - November 14th, 2023

Bridgerton meets Agatha Christie in Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Lord, a dazzling first entry in a captivating new Regency-era mystery series with a feminist spin from Celeste Connally.


Speak of the Devil: A Novel By Rose Wilding Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781250886934
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - June 13th, 2023

Seven women, inextricably linked by one man, must figure out which of them killed him in order to protect one another in this electrifying debut thriller.

New Year’s Eve, 1999.


The Island: A Thriller (The Hulda Series #2) By Ragnar Jónasson Cover Image
$17.99
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781250621856
Published: Minotaur Books - June 23rd, 2020

The newest superstar on the Icelandic crime fiction scene has arrived with a superb followup to The Darkness.

Shortlisted for the Crime Novel of the Year Award in Iceland
Third Place, Novel of the Year Award 2016 in Iceland, selected by booksellers
One of the bestselling novels in Iceland in 2016


Killing Moon: A Harry Hole Novel (13) (Harry Hole Series #13) By Jo Nesbo, Seán Kinsella (Translated by) Cover Image
By Jo Nesbo, Seán Kinsella (Translated by)
$29.00
ISBN: 9780593536964
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - May 30th, 2023

NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • This killer will get inside your head. • Brilliant rogue police investigator Harry Hole is back, this time as an outsider assembling his own team to help find a serial killer who is murdering young women in Oslo in the next novel in the internationally best-selling series.


Murder by Degrees: A Mystery By Ritu Mukerji Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781668015063
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 17th, 2023

An Edgar Award Finalist for Best First Novel

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Charles Todd, Murder by Degrees is a historical mystery set in 19th-century Philadelphia, following a pioneering woman doctor as she investigates the disappearance of a young patient who is presumed dead.

Philadelphia, 1875: It is the start of term at Woman’s Medical College


The Professor: A Novel By Lauren Nossett Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250845351
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - November 14th, 2023

The Professor is a thoroughly gripping mystery about power, ambition, and the lengths we will go to in order to succeed. Pacey and full of tension, this one will stick with you long after THE END.” –New York Times and #1 International Bestselling author, Karin Slaughter