Murder Before Evensong: A Canon Clement Mystery (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Murder Before Evensong: A Canon Clement Mystery By The Reverend Richard Coles Cover Image
$16.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Canon Daniel Clement is the rector of Champton.  The quiet village is suddenly divided when Clement announces the desire to place toilets inside the church.  The biggest opposition - the church flower ladies who want the proposed expanded area for flower arranging.  But soon everyone has other things on their minds when a cousin of the church patron is found dead in the back of the church — a pair of pruning shears the probable weapon.

For a light-hearted summer read, pick up a copy of Murder Before Evensong.  You’ll love the sarcastic, witty and annoying mother of Canon Clement.  Patience, Canon….. - Brenda

— From Brenda's Staff Picks

Description


"I've been waiting for a novel with vicars, rude old ladies, murder and sausage dogs... et voila!" Dawn French

This first in a new series is a charming, warm and witty tale of secrets and murder set among the parishioners of a quaint English village. The No.1 Sunday Times bestselling crime novel, perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club series.

'Whodunnit fans can give praise and rejoice'
IAN RANKIN


Canon Daniel Clement is Rector of Champton. He has been there for eight years, living at the Rectory alongside his widowed mother–opinionated, fearless, ever-so-slightly annoying Audrey–and his two dachshunds, Cosmo and Hilda.

When Daniel announces a plan to install a lavatory in church, the parish is suddenly (and unexpectedly) divided: as lines are drawn, long-buried secrets come dangerously close to destroying the apparent calm of the village.

And then Anthony Bowness–cousin to Bernard de Floures, patron of Champton–is found dead at the back of the church, stabbed in the neck with a pair of pruning shears.

As the police moves in and the bodies start piling up, Daniel is the only one who can try and keep his fractured community together... and catch a killer.

A delightful, cosy murder mystery with a sharp edge from the bestselling author.

About the Author


The Reverend Richard Coles is the presenter of Saturday Live on BBC Radio 4. He is also the only vicar in Britain to have had a number-one hit single and appeared on Strictly Come Dancing. He read Theology at King's College London and after ordination worked as a curate in Lincolnshire, London and Northamptonshire. He is the author of many works of non-fiction – including the Sunday Times bestseller THE MADNESS OF GRIEF – and the Canon Clement mystery series.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781803364827
ISBN-10: 1803364823
Publisher: Titan Books
Publication Date: July 11th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English