Smoke and Mirrors (A Greer Hogan Mystery #4) (Hardcover)

Smoke and Mirrors (A Greer Hogan Mystery #4) By M. E. Hilliard Cover Image
$30.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 4 in the A Greer Hogan Mystery series.

Description


Librarian turned sleuth Greer Hogan is back on the case and headed to the big city in this fourth installment of M. E. Hilliard’s smart, suspenseful mystery series, perfect for fans of Elly Griffiths and Louise Penny.

Having spent months quietly investigating in the village of Raven Hill, Greer Hogan returns to New York City determined to find her husband’s murderer. She secures a temporary gig at a private library inventorying the personal collection of a deceased magician. In her free time, Greer sleuths, leaving no stone unturned–even the ones which could be hiding deadly secrets.

Four years earlier, Greer had discovered her husband Dan dead in their apartment. He’d tried to tell her about something strange going on at his office, but she hadn’t had time to listen until it was too late. Worse still, she has always suspected that the wrong man was convicted of the crime. Now, Greer has solved other murders and has a few tricks up her sleeve.  She combs through belongings she packed away soon after Dan’s death and interviews his former colleagues and people who were near the scene when he died. Soon, Greer is followed and attacked, so she knows she’s struck a nerve—but whose?

When two more people are killed and Greer realizes she can’t escape the smoke and mirrors surrounding her suspects, she confides in one of her new colleagues, a magician named Grim with whom she’s bonded over similar traumas. Though she knows he’s got secrets of his own, the tricky Grim may be exactly the assistant Greer needs to pull a rabbit out of a hat and shine a spotlight on a killer before the curtains come down on her for good.

About the Author


M. E. Hilliard is currently a full-time librarian who started out in retail merchandising. After twelve years of mergers, consolidations, and moves around the country, she went to graduate school and got a Master of Library Science degree. Originally from the Connecticut shoreline, she has never lost her love of quaint small towns, big cities, and fashion, so she indulges that in her writing. A life-long lover of mystery fiction, M. E. currently lives and works in Florida.

Praise For…


Praise for Smoke and Mirrors:
“Four years and three volumes after her husband’s murder, librarian Greer Hogan finally gets a crack at laying it to rest.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Recommended for series fans and all those who enjoy cozy mysteries featuring amateur sleuths, such as Elly Griffith’s Harbinder Kaur novels or Holly Danver’s Lakeside Library mysteries.”
Booklist

“Fans of TV’s Only Murders in the Building might appreciate this series.”
Library Journal

Praise for the Greer Hogan Mysteries:

“Readers who enjoy Louise Penny’s Three Pines will enjoy protagonist Greer Hogan’s sly, witty observations.”
—Gwen Florio, award-winning author of the Lola Wicks series

“[An] appealing main character and enjoyable plot.”
—Dorothy Cannell, award-winning author of the Ellie Haskell series

“A great choice for readers who enjoy both cozy and traditional mysteries.”
—Victoria Gilbert, author of the Blue Ridge Library and Hunter & Clewe mystery series

“[A] first-rate debut and series launch.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Thrilling, fast-paced, quick-witted, and full of nostalgic references.”
Booklist, starred review, on The Unkindness of Ravens

“Atmospheric . . . Readers who remember those classic girl detective mysteries . . . will appreciate this book.”
 —Library Journal

“Moody and tense, literary and urbane, and an edgy delight to read.” 
BookPage


“Entertaining . . . A worthy addition to the series.”
—Booklist, on Three Can Keep a Secret
Product Details
ISBN: 9781639106196
ISBN-10: 1639106197
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: June 4th, 2024
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: A Greer Hogan Mystery