Strange Loyalties (Laidlaw Trilogy #3) (Paperback)

Strange Loyalties (Laidlaw Trilogy #3) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Book Three in William McIlvanney's Laidlaw Trilogy

From William McIlvanney, "the father of 'Tartan Noir'," comes the third book in the groundbreaking Laidlaw series, one that explores "the ruin of the body, the corruption of the soul and the shattering of society" (Wall Street Journal).

This third book in the series begins with Jack Laidlaw's despair and anger at his brother's death in a banal road accident. But his nagging doubts about the dynamics of his brother's death lead to larger questions about the nature of pain and injustice and the greater meaning of his own life. He becomes convinced there is more to his brother's death. His investigations will lead to a confrontation with his own past and a harrowing journey into the dark Glasgow underworld.

The Laidlaw books are widely considered to be among the greatest achievements of Scottish crime writing and the founding novels of what has since become known as the school of Tartan Noir, whcih includes autors like Val McDermid, Denise Mina, and Ian Rankin.

About the Author

William McIlvanney is widely credited as the founder the Tartan Noir movement that includes authors such as Denise Mina, Ian Banks, and Val McDermid, all of whom cite him as an influence and inspiration. McIlvanney's Laidlaw trilogy "changed the face of Scottish fiction" (The Times of London), his Docherty won the Whitbread Award for Fiction, and his Laidlaw and The Papers of Tony Veitch both gained Silver Daggers from the Crime Writers' Association. Strange Loyalties won the Glasgow Herald's People's Prize.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781609452537
ISBN-10: 1609452534
Publisher: Europa Editions
Publication Date: April 7th, 2015
Pages: 256
Language: English
Series: Laidlaw Trilogy