The Invisible Guardian: A Novel (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Invisible Guardian: A Novel Cover Image
$24.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Set in the Basque Country of Spain, The Invisible Guardian is a captivating debut police procedural. Detective Amaia Salazar is young, obsessive, and just a little bit troubled. In Invisible Guardian, Amaia finds herself back in her hometown, investigating a possible connection in the ritual-style killings of two teenage girls. Confronted with her past and a possible serial killer, Salazar must wrestle with her own demons and the demons of Basque Country to solve the case. Redondo's writing is evocative, humid, mystical. Perfect for fans of True Detective, Ian Rankin, and all the other maverick detectives we know and love. The first in a trilogy, The Invisible Guardian is already a best seller in Europe and will soon be available in 30 languages. 

— Sam

Description


Shortlisted for the CWA International Dagger 2015
Best Spanish Crime Novel of the Year, 2013 by major Spanish newspaper La Vanguardia
Top 10 Crime Novels of the Summer by Le Figaro Magazine, France
“Pluma de plata” (Silver Quill) 2014 by the Basque Booksellers Association
Best Novel of 2013—Creatio Social Media
Best Spanish Novel of the Year, 2013—“Continuarà” TVE Cultural Programme

Already a #1 international bestseller, this tautly written and gripping psychological thriller forces a police inspector to reluctantly return to her hometown in Basque Country—a place engulfed in mythology and superstition—to solve a series of eerie murders.

When the naked body of a teenage girl is found on a riverbank in Basque Country, Spain, homicide inspector Amaia Salazar must return to the hometown she always sought to escape. A dark secret from Amaia’s past plagues her with nightmares, and as her investigation deepens, the old pagan beliefs of the community threaten to derail her astute detective work. The lines between mythology and reality begin to blur, and Amaia must discover whether the crimes are the work of a ritualistic killer or of a mythical creature known as the Basajaun, the Invisible Guardian.

Torn between the rational procedures of her job and the local superstitions of a region shaped by the Spanish Inquisition, Amaia fights against the demons of her past in order to track down a killer on the run.

About the Author


Dolores Redondo was born in Donostia-San Sebastián in 1969. She studied law and gastronomy, but began writing short stories and in 2009 she published her first novel, The Privileges of the Angel. The Invisible Guardian was published in Spain in 2013 and is being translated into thirty languages. She currently lives and writes in the Ribera Navarra.

Praise For…


“Myth and reality blend and blur in this sophisticated and razor-sharp thriller. All of the skeletons are banging on the closet doors to be set free, and free they are in this gritty, fascinating, and compelling story. Already #1 in other countries, this one will be making its way up our bestseller lists too.”
— Steve Berry, New York Times best selling author

"I really loved it. I strongly recommend it.”
— María Dueñas

"Redondo tells the ancient tales in a hypnotic voice."

“The Basque backdrop gives this thriller an especially intriguing layer of depth; the superstitions and mythologies passed down from the days of Spanish Inquisition penetrate the mystery to such an extent that the reader is easily transported.”

“Already an international bestseller, this engrossing psychological thriller will impress American readers as well.”

“Fans of thrillers with the hint of the supernatural will enjoy reading Redondo and will be on the eager lookout for the next in the trilogy."

"...An international bestseller, combining singular characters and an eerily atmospheric setting."

“Dolores Redondo has set a landmark in the history of Spanish novel.”

"One of the biggest literary surprises of recent times."

"A more sophisticated kind of book...than the conventional crime novel.... Exciting, attractive, competent, well structured, full of temperance, different and fresh.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9781501102134
ISBN-10: 1501102133
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication Date: March 8th, 2016
Pages: 384
Language: English