The Vanishing (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
The Vanishing Cover Image
By Wendy Webb, Xe Sands (Narrated by)
Email or call for price.

Staff Reviews

Another great gotchic read from Wendy Webb.  When Julia's life falls apart, the offer to move away and start over is perfect, but seems to good to be true.  Soon, Julia finds herself living in a house that feels too familiar, and is the companion to famous (and thought to be dead) horror writer.

Webb's books are perfect for fans of Barbara Michaels, and anyone who likes a good scare.   

— John Kwiatkowski


Recently widowed and rendered penniless by her Ponzi-scheming husband, Julia Bishop is eager to start anew. So when a stranger appears on her doorstep with a job offer, she finds herself accepting the mysterious yet unique position: caretaker to his mother, Amaris Sinclair, the famous and rather eccentric horror novelist whom Julia has always admired...and who the world believes is dead. When she arrives at the Sinclairs' enormous estate on Lake Superior, Julia begins to suspect that there may be sinister undercurrents to her too-good-to-be-true position. As Julia delves into the reasons of why Amaris chose to abandon her successful writing career and withdraw from the public eye, her search leads to unsettling connections to her own family tree, making her wonder why she really was invited to Havenwood in the first place, and what monstrous secrets are still held prisoner within its walls.

About the Author

A career journalist, Wendy Webb is the author of several mystery novels, including "The Vanishing" and "The Tale of Halcyon Crane." Wendy lives in Minnesota.

Xe Sands has more than a decade of experience bringing stories to life through narration and performance. Sands's characterizations are rich and expressive and her narrations evocative and intimate. She has also won multiple "AudioFile" Earphones Awards, including for her narration of "The Sweet Relief of Missing Children" by Sarah Braunstein.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781494500573
ISBN-10: 1494500574
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Publication Date: April 8th, 2014
Language: English