The Memory of After (Memory Chronicles #1) (Paperback)

The Memory of After (Memory Chronicles #1) Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
Special Order


In this gripping exploration of a futuristic afterlife, a teen discovers that death is just the beginning.

Since her untimely death, Felicia Ward has been trapped in Level 2, a stark white afterlife located between our world and the next. Along with her fellow drones, Felicia passes the endless hours reliving memories of her time on Earth and mourning what she's lost--family, friends, and Neil, the boy she loved.

Then a girl in a neighboring chamber is found dead, and nobody but Felicia recalls that she existed in the first place. When Julian--a dangerously charming guy Felicia knew in life--appears to offer Felicia a way out, Felicia learns the truth: if she joins the rebellion to overthrow the Morati, the angel guardians of Level 2, she can be with Neil again.

Suspended between Heaven and Earth, Felicia finds herself at the center of an age-old struggle between good and evil. As memories from her life come back to haunt her, and as the Morati hunt her down, Felicia will discover it's not just her own redemption at stake...but the salvation of all mankind.

Previously published as Level 2.

Praise For…

"Readers will root for Felicia and Neil....The way Appelhans mixes memory with plot is exceptional."
-Romantic Times

"Immensely layered."

“This imaginative debut brings conflict to the afterlife....An absorbing, sensitive read.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“Absolutely gripping. My heart pounded on nearly every page. You won't be able to put it down.”
-Mary E. Pearson, award-winning author of the Jenna Fox Chronicles

“Appelhans brings the afterlife to a whole new level. . . . A high-voltage thrill ride through love, death, and memory that will leave you breathless.”
-Jess Rothenberg, author of The Catastrophic History of You and Me

“A gripping debut! This utterly unique take on the afterlife poses fascinating questions . . . I can't wait to read the rest of the series to find out the answers!”
-Megan McCafferty, New York Times bestselling author of Bumped and Thumped

Product Details
ISBN: 9781442441866
ISBN-10: 1442441860
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 3rd, 2013
Pages: 281
Language: English
Series: Memory Chronicles