Proving Ground (Lourdes Robles Novels #1) (CD-Audio)

Staff Pick Logo
Proving Ground (Lourdes Robles Novels #1) Cover Image
By Peter Blauner, Ari Fliakos (Read by)
$39.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Proving Ground is a razor sharp, fast-paced New York City procedural and a fantastic return to form for Blauner, who hasn't had a book out in 10 years. When a high profile defense attorney is shot in an apparent car robbery, both the victims family and Detective Lourdes Robles suspect foul play. Complicating matters is the victims son, an Iraqi war vet with demons of his own. Blauner has a great ear for dialogue and character: Blauner's New York is vividly drawn with darkness and humor. The plot twists and turns, moving us effortlessly to the conclusion. Perfect for fans of Connelly, Coleman, and Lehane.

— Sam

Description


From New York Times bestselling author and Edgar Award winner Peter Blauner comes a gritty new audiobook.

"Ari Fliakos gives a splendid performance. His versatile voice and energy enliven the many characters in this thriller." — Library Journal

"Ari Fliakos enhances an exciting story with his expert narration. He gives everyone a unique identity, differentiating them through varying tones, voices, and accents." — AudioFile Magazine

Nathaniel Dresden never really got along with his father, an infamous civil rights lawyer who defended criminals and spearheaded protest movements. As an act of rebellion, Natty joined the U.S. Army and served in Iraq, coming back with a chest full of commendations and a head full of disturbing memories.

But when his father is found murdered near the peaceful confines of Brooklyn’s Prospect Park, Natty is forced to deal with the troubled legacy of their unresolved relationship. He also has to fend off the growing suspicions of NYPD Detective Lourdes Robles, a brash Latina cop with something to prove, who thinks Natty might bear some responsibility for his father’s death. Though truth be told, the list of people—cops and criminals—who wanted David Dresden out of the way is long. The search for answers leads Natty and Lourdes into an urban labyrinth where they must confront each other—and the brutal truths that could destroy them both.

Proving Ground is Peter Blauner’s first audiobook in more than a decade. It is at once a sweeping crime narrative, an intricate story about the quest for redemption, and a vibrant portrait of contemporary New York City, all told in Blauner’s singular voice.

About the Author


PETER BLAUNER is an Edgar-winning, New York Times bestselling author of several novels, including Slow Motion Riot and The Intruder. He is currently the co-executive producer of the CBS show, Blue Bloods. Proving Ground is his first novel in ten years.

Ari Fliakos is an actor with experience in television, radio, film, theater, and voiceovers. His narration of Seth Patrick’s Reviver won an Audie for paranormal fiction. He has narrated Black Site and Tier One Wild by Dalton Fury, as well as Gangster Squad, The Inquisitor, and Shotgun Lovesongs. On screen, he is best-known for his roles in Law & Order, Pills, and Company K.

Praise For…


"Ari Fliakos enhances an exciting story with his expert narration. He gives everyone a unique identity, differentiating them through varying tones, voices, and accents. ...Another example of a well-paced story that is significantly enhanced by a narration built on appropriate voices." -AudioFile

"Ari Fliakos gives a splendid performance. His versatile voice and energy enliven the many characters in this thriller. Those who like a compelling and believable thriller with more than one startling twist will find this to be a wonderful experience." -Library Journal

"Over the last 25 years Peter Blauner has proven to be a master of the urban darkside, his crime novels suffused with a knowing compassion for the bottom dogs who live in the Minotaur's maze that is New York City. Proving Ground is one of his finest efforts."
--Richard Price

"Peter Blauner’s new novel, Proving Ground, is an old-school page-turner, as war-damaged army vet Nathaniel 'Natty Dread' Dresden and police detective Lourdes Robles close in on the killer of Natty’s father…and, maybe, each other. Taut narration, spot-on dialogue, and sharply etched action sequences make this one a must read. I couldn’t put the sucker down."
—Stephen King

“A new Peter Blauner novel is cause for celebration, and Proving Ground justifies the wait. This is a thoughtful, nuanced novel of crime and war and the human heart. Blauner's authentic and powerful writing is worthy of comparison to Richard Price and Dennis Lehane, and his story is coiled with emotional impact. Not to be missed.
—Michael Koryta

"Peter Blauner's first book in ten years, Proving Ground, is a showstopper. A tour-de-force of smart, gutsy, relentlessly entertaining storytelling that counts as one of the finest novels I've read in the past five years. Blauner has a painter's eye for detail, a playwright's ear for dialogue, and a film director's kinetic narrative vision. All combine to create a turbo-charged reading experience. Proving Ground is a masterpiece of contemporary fiction."
—Christopher Reich

"Proving Ground is a startlingly powerful tale of lost lives and lost souls with a crackling crime drama at its core. No one understands the NYPD, the backroom politics of New York, nor the heart of the city like Blauner. No one."
—Reed Farrel Coleman

Product Details
ISBN: 9781427285928
ISBN-10: 1427285926
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2017
Language: English
Series: Lourdes Robles Novels