Slated for Death: A Penny Brannigan Mystery (Hardcover)

Slated for Death: A Penny Brannigan Mystery Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
Out of Print

Description


When the body of well-liked and respectable Glenda Roberts is discovered at the bottom of a former slate mine, now a busy tourist attraction, pandemonium erupts in the North Wales town of Llanelen. Penny Brannigan finds herself drawn into the investigation when jars of her house-brand hand cream are found among counterfeit inventory Glenda and her sister were selling.

Police are convinced that the mine operator whose asthmatic son suffered an almost-fatal attack due to the merchandise is responsible for Glenda's death. But Penny's not so sure. A visit to Glenda's mother only deepens her conviction that a hidden family secret is the real reason for the murder.

Elizabeth J. Duncan's Slated for Death is a wonderful traditional mystery with snappy dialogue, lively characters and an enchanting setting.

About the Author


Elizabeth J. Duncan, author of the Penny Brannigan mysteries, is a winner of the Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel Competition for The Cold Light of Mourning. She was shortlisted for the Agatha and Arthur Ellis Awards. She lives in Toronto.

Praise For…


“Dorothy Sayers fans will welcome Duncan's fifth Penny Brannigan mystery set in North Wales (after 2013's Never Laugh as a Hearse Goes By)… [Duncan] does a good job evoking the toil and hardship intrinsic to the slate mining industry that supported the area's economy for over two centuries. She manages a neat surprise ending, too.” —Publishers Weekly

“This remains a delightful series, with continuing characters adding texture to the already good story.” —Booklist

“Spring isn't itself without a really good British cozy and Duncan, who lives in Toronto, serves up a perfect teafest in her terrific Penny Brannigan series, set in Wales... With lots of action and local colour, Duncan's book is a perfect spring getaway.” —The Globe and Mail

“The tutorial on slate mining and plenty of local color make for an entertaining entry in this long-running series.” —Kirkus Reviews

“The charming, unusual setting and quirky cast of characters make Duncan's sixth (after 2013's Never Laugh as a Hearse Goes By) book in the series an entertaining read that's only enhanced by the many tutorials on slate mining and Welsh history.” —Library Journal

“Duncan again offers her readers an interesting story with an abundance of Welsh culture and history - and this time out, a key insight into Penny's past.” —Richmond Times-Dispatch

“This fifth entry in a winning series...is a pleasing update of the 'body in the library' standard. In the time-honored tradition of village cozies, Duncan provides structure, subtle clues, rampant gossip, and a satisfying conclusion.” —Library Journal (starred review) on Never Laugh as a Hearse Goes By

“Clever and chilling, 'Never Laugh as a Hearse Goes By' includes a storied plot device--a body in the library--as well as well-fashioned characters and interesting settings. Duncan, who teaches at a Toronto college, spends several weeks each year in Wales, and those trips pay off handsomely in her latest novel.” —Richmond-Times Dispatch on Never Laugh as a Hearse Goes By

“Multiple plotlines, a sympathetic main character, and its lovingly described Welsh setting add to the appeal of this satisfying cozy.” —Booklist on Never Laugh as a Hearse Goes By

“Like the earlier books, this one fits somewhere between traditional and cozy. Or is that redundant? Whatever style Duncan's books fall into, she seems to have it pretty much nailed.” —The Toronto Star on Never Laugh as a Hearse Goes By

“Cozy fans will enjoy this light, quick read (and delight at fellow fictional crime solver Dorothy Martin's cameo over a quick manicure).” —Library Journal on A Killer's Christmas in Wales

“Duncan writes so well about the lives of people in a small village in Wales that the reader becomes immersed in their daily trials and tribulations. The follow-up to the award-winning The Cold Light of Mourning is sure to appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Agatha Christie.” —Library Journal on A Brush with Death

“Duncan's second is every bit as delightful as her debut...a smoothly written classic English mystery right up there with the best.” —Kirkus Reviews on A Brush with Death

“Readers who enjoy the English village cozy mysteries of Dorothy Cannell and Nancy Atherton will want to take a look at this series.” —Booklist on A Brush with Death

“A wonderfully talented author presents a soothing picture of Wales in this cozy. Fans of Louise Penny will love this book. There's plenty of intrigue to keep you turning pages into the night. The mystery is sharp and tangled and the characters sharp and interesting.” —RT Book Reviews (4 1/2 stars) on A Brush with Death

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250055217
ISBN-10: 1250055210
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: April 14th, 2015
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: A Penny Brannigan Mystery