Murder at the Brightwell (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Murder at the Brightwell Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
Hard to Find

Staff Reviews


Ashley Weaver's debut novel is delightful! Amory Ames married a
playboy, and her ex-fiance Gil wants Amory to keep his sister from
making the same mistake. Amory leaves her husband and heads to The
Brightwell Hotel, where a weekend with her ex-fiance isn't the only
scandal. When Gil is accused of murder his sister's fiance, Amory
decides she will clear his name. Intriguing characters, playful
banter, and an engaging mystery make this book a real treat. Perfect
for fans of Rhys Bowen, C.A. Belmond, and Agatha Christie!  

— John

We've already highlighted this title a bit recently, but I just
want to add my endorsement to all the rest of the acclaim. I have
been completely charmed by this mystery, a witty, 1930's mystery with
a closed cast of characters, red herrings, and all things good that
come with the Golden Age style. I smiled frequently while reading it,
and found it an entirely pleasurable experience. Highly recommended!
Signed first editions!  

— McKenna

Description


Shortlisted for the Edgar Awards

Ashley Weaver's debut mystery, Murder at the Brightwell, is a delicious, stylish novel in which murder invades British polite society and romance springs in unexpected places, and a wonderful testament to the enduring delight of the traditional mystery.

"An elegant Christie-esque 1930s romp." --Deborah Crombie

"If you love Downton Abbey, you'll adore Ashley Weaver's charming debut."--Susan Elia MacNeal

"A witty and charming debut mystery with a believably spunky sleuth and a compelling story of love that never runs smoothly." --G.M. Malliet

"It's more terrible than you think, Mrs. Ames. It appears that Mr. Howe was murdered."

Amory Ames, a wealthy young woman questioning her marriage to her notoriously charming playboy husband, Milo, is looking for a change. She accepts a request for help from her former fianc , Gil Trent, not knowing that she'll soon become embroiled in a murder investigation that will not only test her friendship with Gil, but also will upset the status quo with her husband.

Amory accompanies Gil to the luxurious Brightwell Hotel in an attempt to circumvent the marriage of his sister, Emmeline, to Rupert Howe a disreputable ladies man. There is more than her happiness at stake, however, when Rupert is murdered and Gil is arrested for the crime. Matters are further complicated by Milo's unexpected arrival, and as the line between friend and foe becomes less clear, Amory must decide where her heart lies and catch the killer before she, too, becomes a victim.

Also out now in the Amory Ames mysteries: Death Wears a Mask and A Most Novel Revenge

About the Author


ASHLEY WEAVER is the branch manager at Oberlin, the headquarters branch of the Allen Parish Libraries in Louisiana. Weaver has worked in libraries since she was 14; she was a page and then a clerk before obtaining her MLIS from Louisiana State University. She lives in Oakdale, Louisiana. Murder at the Brightwell is her first novel.

Praise For…


Murder at the Brightwell is an elegant Christie-esque 1930s romp that will delight fans of Rhys Bowen's Lady Georgie series with its wit, charm, and strong independent heroine. With its dash of romance, Amory Ames and her rakish husband Milo might just be the new Nick and Nora Charles.”—Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author of To Dwell in Darkness

“If you love Downton Abbey, you'll adore Ashley Weaver's charming debut novel, set amidst the upper-crust of British society at a posh seaside resort in the 1930s. There are handsome cads, gorgeous gowns, and red herrings galore as our winsome heroine Amory Ames puts all the clues together to find the murderer—as well as love.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times-bestselling author of the Barry Award-winning Maggie Hope series.

“A charming mystery including all my favorite elements—a grand seaside hotel in 1930s England with a background love story.”—Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author of the Molly Murphy and Royal Spyness mysteries

“Ashley Weaver's debut novel delivers the goods--an appealing heroine, an abundance of  suspects and enough red herrings to satisfy the most demanding of readers—all rendered with an expert hand.”—Carol K. Carr, national bestselling author of the Madame of Espionage mysteries 

“A witty and charming debut mystery with a believably spunky sleuth and a compelling story of love that never runs smoothly. I was caught up by the author's subtle humor and gift for dialogue. I hope we see more of Amory Ames in the future.”—G.M. Malliet, Agatha Award-winning author of the St. Just and Max Tudor mysteries

“An engaging mystery that kept me guessing right up to the end. I especially enjoyed the playful and at times snarky banter between Amory and Milo, which had me rooting for them not only to solve the murder, but to realize how perfect they are for each other. I hope they will continue on in the vein of Nick and Nora Charles, for I would happily follow them on the trail of future mysteries!”—Jennifer Delamere, author of An Heiress at Heart

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250046369
ISBN-10: 125004636X
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: October 14th, 2014
Pages: 325
Language: English