The Reckoning (Hardcover)

The Reckoning Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
Hard to Find


Inspector John Madden who debuted in River of Darkness returns in a gripping post World War II murder mystery
On a quiet afternoon in 1947, retired bank manager Oswald Gibson is shot in the head while fishing. In Scotland, a respectable family doctor is killed in the same
manner and with the same gun. What is the connection? Scotland Yard's Detective Inspector Billy Styles and local detective Vic Chivers are baffled until a letter from
Gibson is discovered that might shed some light on the case a letter concerning former Scotland Yard detective John Madden. Despite Madden's legendary memory, he has no recollection of meeting Gibson or any idea of what their relationship might have been. Madden is happily retired from police work, but agrees to help his former protege Styles and the clues they uncover only deepen the mystery. When a third man is killed in a similar fashion, Madden and Styles find themselves in a race against time to find the killer before another man ends up dead.
A smart, intricately plotted mystery, this is the fourth title in the critically acclaimed and much loved John Madden series.

About the Author

Rennie Airth is the author of six novels, including the John Madden series. The first, River of Darkness, was nominated for Edgar, Anthony, and Macavity awards, and won the Grand Prix de Litterature Policiere."
Product Details
ISBN: 9780670785681
ISBN-10: 0670785687
Publisher: Viking Books
Publication Date: August 14th, 2014
Pages: 358
Language: English
Series: John Madden Mysteries (Hardcover)