Murder in Postscript (A Lady of Letters Mystery #1) (Paperback)

Murder in Postscript (A Lady of Letters Mystery #1) By Mary Winters Cover Image
$18.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the A Lady of Letters Mystery series.

Description


When one of her readers asks for advice following a suspected murder, Victorian countess Amelia Amesbury, who secretly pens the popular Lady Agony column, has no choice but to investigate in this first book in a charming new historical mystery series.

Amelia Amesbury—widow, mother, and countess—has a secret. Amelia writes for a London penny paper, doling out advice on fashion, relationships, and manners under the pen name Lady Agony. But when a lady’s maid writes Amelia to ask for advice when she believes her mistress has been murdered—and then ends up a victim herself—Amelia is determined to solve the case.

With the help of her best friend and a handsome marquis, Amelia begins to piece together the puzzle, but as each new thread of inquiry ends with a different suspect, the investigation grows ever more daunting. From London’s docks and ballrooms to grand country houses, Amelia tracks a killer, putting her reputation—and her life—on the line.

About the Author


Mary Winters is the author of the Lady Agony mystery series. A longtime reader of historical fiction and an author of two other mystery series, Mary set her latest work in Victorian England after being inspired by a trip to London. Since then, she’s been busily planning her next mystery—and another trip!

Praise For…


Praise for the Lady of Letters Series

"...[A] refreshing libation of mystery, wit, and Victorian society, with a twist of romance." - Dianne Freeman, Agatha Award-winning author of the Countess of Harleigh mysteries

“[A] delightful character-driven historical mystery for fans of Katharine Schellman or Dianne Freeman.”  - Library Journal starred review 

"Enjoy the charming characters, a touch of romance, and an unexpected denouement." —Kirkus Reviews

"The author is a wonderful storyteller and I found myself progressing effortlessly through the narrative. With plenty of levels to the plot and several red herrings and twists, the story kept me engaged throughout." - Mystery & Suspense Magazine 

"A very special and original Victorian era cozy mystery set in 1860, "Murder in Postscript" by Mary Winters is a highly recommended and fun read for all dedicated mystery fans.” - Midwest Book Review 
 
"This book was a sheer delight to read. The characters were very endearing and I was very invested in the story. I adored Lady Amelia and her kind, thoughtful and independent heart." - Becky’s Bookshelf 
 
Murder in Postscript is almost flawlessly executed, with all the supporting characters a reader expects in mystery and Regency romance.” - Chick Lit Central
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593548769
ISBN-10: 0593548760
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: March 28th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: A Lady of Letters Mystery