Killers of a Certain Age (Hardcover)

Killers of a Certain Age By Deanna Raybourn Cover Image
$27.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

“This Golden Girls meets James Bond thriller is a journey you want to be part of.” -Buzzfeed

Older women often feel invisible, but sometimes that’s their secret weapon.

They’ve spent their lives as the deadliest assassins in a clandestine international organization, but now that they're sixty years old, four women friends can’t just retire – it’s kill or be killed in this action-packed thriller by New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-nominated author Deanna Raybourn.


Billie, Mary Alice, Helen, and Natalie have worked for the Museum, an elite network of assassins, for forty years. Now their talents are considered old-school and no one appreciates what they have to offer in an age that relies more on technology than people skills.

When the foursome is sent on an all-expenses paid vacation to mark their retirement, they are targeted by one of their own. Only the Board, the top-level members of the Museum, can order the termination of field agents, and the women realize they’ve been marked for death.

Now to get out alive they have to turn against their own organization, relying on experience and each other to get the job done, knowing that working together is the secret to their survival. They’re about to teach the Board what it really means to be a woman—and a killer—of a certain age.

About the Author


Deanna Raybourn is the New York Times bestselling author of the Edgar Award–nominated Veronica Speedwell Mysteries, as well as the Lady Julia Grey series and several stand-alone works.
 

Praise For…


“This Golden Girls meets James Bond thriller is a journey you want to be part of.” -Buzzfeed

“A singular suspense story thanks to its deftly fluctuating tone, which is by turns comical, violent and unexpectedly affecting…it’s impossible not to root for these dangerous dames and their refusal to let themselves be put on the ash heap — a phrase that, in this thriller, should be taken literally.” -The Washington Post
 
“A sharp and witty thriller.” -PopSugar

"National treasure Deanna Raybourn never fails to enchant with her signature dry wit, sophisticated storylines, slick twists, and smart eccentric women who anchor her books.  Her latest is a romping, wild delight from start to finish. Killers of a Certain Age is the 60-something lady assassin book we didn’t know we needed, but, oh, we needed it. I love this book."
—Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author

“Deanna Raybourn’s Killers of a Certain Age captures the reader from the get-go—and never lets go! An excellent and thrilling read!”
—Heather Graham, New York Times bestselling author of Crimson Summer
 
Killers of a Certain Age is a delightful, twisty, hilarious novel that proves revenge is a dish best served cold. Filled with jet-setting adventure and a group of clever, middle-aged lady assassins, it’s the perfect antidote to any reading drought—and a whopping good page-turner. I loved it!”
—Ariel Lawhon, New York Times bestselling author of I Was Anastasia and Code Name Hélène

“This novel—sharp as battery acid, fast as a bullet, and hilarious to boot—pits men against women, age against youth, technology against old school know-how.” -Amazon Book Review

“Deanna Raybourn takes a leap into the present day with this intelligent and action-packed new book, and may I say, she hits it out of the park.”
Mystery and Suspense Magazine
 
“This story gives us a look at how you can be ice cold without losing your soul, and otherwise be a normal woman who happens to be in the killing business. In fact, exploration of that paradox is what makes this inversion of a typical thriller work.”-NY Journal of Books

“The lively banter between old friends, mixed with plenty of action sequences, will keep you turning the pages long into the night, and I’m hoping these feisty heroines make it to the screen soon to continue their adventures.”-CrimeReads
 
“If you like your crime stories with a dose of humor, check out Killers of a Certain Age, a witty thriller featuring a group of women in their 60s who work as elite assassins.” -AARP

"Fans of Helen Tursten and Richard Osman will relish watching these badass women in their 60s swing into action. Raybourn has outdone herself.”
—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Fans of Raybourn’s “Veronica Speedwell” historical mysteries will enjoy this well-plotted story, and a thriller featuring four skilled, well-trained women is a treat in a male-dominated genre. A fast-paced, explosive, fun novel, reminiscent of the 2010 movie RED.”
—Library Journal (starred review)

“The writing is witty and original, and the plot is unpredictable…Raybourn vividly evokes a number of far-flung locations while keeping readers on their toes trying to figure out what's going to happen next. A unique examination of womanhood as well as a compelling, complex mystery.”
—Kirkus (starred review)
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593200681
ISBN-10: 0593200683
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: September 6th, 2022
Pages: 368
Language: English