The Scent of Secrets: A Novel (Clara Vine) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Scent of Secrets: A Novel (Clara Vine) Cover Image
$16.00
Able to Backorder

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Clara Vine series.

Staff Reviews


Being an actress allows Clara Vine to befriend the wives of high-ranking Nazi officials, which comes in handy when you're a spy. Her newest mission is to befriend the elusive Eva Braun, while also looking into the disappearance of a woman on a KdF cruise. Clara is the main focus, but Thynne (author Philip Kerr's wive) also tells the story from the perspective of several women in Germany as they watch their world change. A compelling and beautifully written read. - John

— From 2015 Advent Picks

My newly discovered and favorite series is the Clara Vine books by Jane Thynne. The main character, Clara Vine, is an English actress living in Berlin when Germany is preparing for war unbeknownst to other countries. Clara is embedded with the wives of all the high Nazi officials, which puts her in the perfect position to spy for the English. Learning of war, secrets and the in and outs of Nazi officers from the wives is very unique and allows a different spin on this genre of books. Through this series we see the Jewish community slowly become exiled in a step by step scenario If you love historical fiction in WW2 time period, a little romance, and suspense that keeps you turning the page, this series is highly recommended! - Christina

— From Christina's Staff Picks

Description


Set in Europe, in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge.
 
The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by his request: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the Führer’s plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his “secret” girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva’s delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler’s private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn—and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds.

Previously published in the U.K. as A War of Flowers
 
“A brilliant tale of spies and secrets, of intense psychological drama, of edgy climax and one extraordinary heroine.”—Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers
 
“A compelling story of love and betrayal in Hitler’s Berlin . . . Peppered with real-life characters, this series offers a fascinating glimpse of the extraordinary world of the Nazi wives.”—Daisy Goodwin, author of The American Heiress
 
“An alluring blend of thrills, suspense, historic detail, and seduction.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope series
 
“An extraordinary, absorbing read with an array of characters so real you’re there with them as war looms, and a pace that sweeps you from page to page. This is indeed a winner!”Charles Todd, author of Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

About the Author


Jane Thynne was born in Venezuela and educated in London. After graduating from Oxford, she worked for the BBC, The Sunday Times, and The Daily Telegraph. She continues to freelance as a journalist while writing her historical fiction. Her novels, including the Clara Vine series, have been published in French, German, Greek, Turkish, Italian, and Romanian. The widow of Philip Kerr, she has three children and lives in London, where she is working on her next novel.

Praise For…


“A brilliant tale of spies and secrets, of intense psychological drama, of edgy climax and one extraordinary heroine.”—Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers
 
“A compelling story of love and betrayal in Hitler’s Berlin . . . Peppered with real-life characters, this series offers a fascinating glimpse of the extraordinary world of the Nazi wives.”—Daisy Goodwin, author of The American Heiress
 
“An alluring blend of thrills, suspense, historic detail, and seduction.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope series
 
“An extraordinary, absorbing read with an array of characters so real you’re there with them as war looms, and a pace that sweeps you from page to page. This is indeed a winner!”Charles Todd, author of Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries
Product Details
ISBN: 9780553393903
ISBN-10: 0553393901
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: September 15th, 2015
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: Clara Vine