The Lost Ones (A Quinn Colson Novel #2) (Paperback)

The Lost Ones (A Quinn Colson Novel #2) Cover Image
$9.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Fans of Justified and James Lee Burke will love Mississippi lawman Quinn Colson in this Edgar® Award Nominee for Best Novel from the author of The Ranger...

When Army Ranger Quinn Colson, the new sheriff of Tibbehah County, is called out to investigate a child abuse case, what he finds is a horrifying scene of neglect, thirteen empty cribs, and a shoe box full of money. Janet and Ramon Torres seem to have skipped town—but Colson’s sure they’ll come back for the cash.

Meanwhile, Colson’s sister has returned—clean and sober for good, she says. His friend Boom has been drinking himself into oblivion and picking fights at the local bar. And his old flame is pregnant. But Colson can’t focus on his personal problems. He and Deputy Lillie Virgil are convinced that Janet and Ramon have a taste for guns, drugs, and human trafficking. Soon Colson and Virgil find a link between the fugitive couple and a drug cartel that controls most of the Texas border, taking their investigation far beyond the rough hills of northeast Mississippi...

About the Author


Ace Atkins is the New York Times bestselling author of the Quinn Colson novels, the first two of which—The Ranger and The Lost Ones—were nominated for the Edgar Award for Best Novel (he also has a third Edgar nomination for his short story, “Last Fair Deal Gone Down”). In addition, he is the author of several New York Times bestselling novels in the continuation of Robert B. Parker’s Spenser series. Before turning to fiction, he was a correspondent for the St. Petersburg Times, a crime reporter for the Tampa Tribune, and, in college, played defensive end for the undefeated Auburn University football team (for which he was featured on the cover of Sports Illustrated). He lives in Oxford, Mississippi.

Praise For…


“Ace Atkins goes straight for the throat in The Lost Ones.”—Houston Press

More Praise for The Lost Ones

“Atkins’ sense of place is superb, his story stark and suspenseful. Quinn Colson has a quick wit, a strong sense of honor, and radiates sex appeal, but more importantly he knows the difference between law and order.”—Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

“Atkins delivers a powerful, ripped-from-the-headlines plot.”—Mystery Scene

“Atkins seems to have hit his stride with this splendid sequel to the Edgar Award-nominated The Ranger.”—Library Journal

“Edgar-finalist Atkins showcases his versatility in his exciting, thoughtful second thriller starring ex-Ranger–turned–lawman Quinn Colson...a contemporary laconic lead battling evil that could come straight out of a Gary Cooper western.”—Publishers Weekly

More Praise For Ace Atkins’s Quinn Colson Series

“In Quinn Colson, bestselling author Ace Atkins has created an American hero in a time when we need him.”—C. J. Box 

“Ace Atkins’s Quinn Colson series is, quite simply, the best in crime fiction today—and also so much more. With a rich cast of characters, and a hero we can count on, these are tales of morality and desperation, of shocking violence and the enduring resilience of family and community. And the emotional places they take us make them unforgettable.”—Megan Abbott 

“Quinn Colson is my kind of guy. I would follow him anywhere.”—Lee Child 

“Atkins finds his natural-born storytellers everywhere. It’s all music to these ears.”—Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review
Product Details
ISBN: 9780525542261
ISBN-10: 0525542264
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publication Date: February 5th, 2019
Pages: 416
Series: A Quinn Colson Novel