Midnight Crossroad (A Novel of Midnight, Texas #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Midnight Crossroad (A Novel of Midnight, Texas #1) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the A Novel of Midnight, Texas series.

Staff Reviews

After the phenomenal success of the 13-book Sookie Stackhouse series, Charlaine Harris has penned the first book in a proposed trilogy set in the west Texas town of Midnight. Action centers around Midnight Pawn and its proprietor, Bobo Wainwright. Bobo has secrets, as does everyone in Midnight, including Fiji Cavanaugh, the witch who lives across the street, Bobo’s two basement tenants, Lemuel and Olivia, among other residents. Manfred Bernardo, the newest resident, hopes he has found the perfect place to run his business as an internet psychic, but the disappearance of a woman named Aubrey Hamilton, Bobo’s girlfriend, may just stir things up…


Harris is a gifted storyteller with the ability to draw in readers and keep them glued to the pages. Midnight Crossroad may be her best book yet. I gulped it down in one sitting and am now impatient for the next book. The characters are beautifully drawn, the plot moves along at an excellent place, and the sly touches of humor leaven what can be a rather creepy story. Harris is at the top of her game here, and that means it’s one of the best books you’ll read this year.

— Dean


Take a trip to the small Texas town where only outsiders fit in with the first novel in #1 New York Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris’ paranormal mystery series.

Welcome to Midnight, Texas, a town with many boarded-up windows and few full-time inhabitants, located at the crossing of Witch Light Road and the Davy highway. It’s a pretty standard dried-up western town.

There’s a pawnshop with three residents. One is seen only at night. There’s a diner, but people stopping there tend not to linger. There’s a newcomer, Manfred Bernardo, who just wants to work hard and blend in. But Manfred has secrets of his own...

About the Author

Charlaine Harris is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse and Midnight, Texas, fantasy/mystery series and the Aurora Teagarden, Harper Connelly, and Lily Bard mystery series. Her books have inspired HBO’s True Blood, NBC’s Midnight, Texas, and the Aurora Teagarden movies for Hallmark Movies & Mysteries. She has lived in the South her entire life.

Praise For…

Praise for Charlaine Harris and Her Novels of Midnight, Texas

“[Harris is] the Mark Twain of things that live under your bed.”—Houston Press

“[An] out-of-the-ordinary mystery.”—Publishers Weekly

“More addictive and more satisfying than a class A drug.”—SFBook

“A little magic, a little mystery, and a lot of imagination make for a story that is both fun and edgy.”—Kirkus Reviews

“As intimate and deep as the Stackhouse novels.”—Library Journal

“Move over Bon Temps, Midnight, Texas, has arrived.”—Fresh Fiction
Product Details
ISBN: 9780425263167
ISBN-10: 0425263169
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: March 31st, 2015
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: A Novel of Midnight, Texas