The Reckoning: A John Madden Mystery (Paperback)

The Reckoning: A John Madden Mystery Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Inspector John Madden--who debuted in the acclaimed River of Darkness--returns in a gripping post-World War II murder mystery. Rennie Airth's The Death of Kings is now available from Viking.

On a quiet afternoon in 1947, retired bank manager Oswald Gibson is shot in the head while fishing. In Scotland, a respectable family doctor is killed in the same manner--and with the same gun. What is the connection? Scotland Yard's Detective Inspector Billy Styles and local detective Vic Chivers are baffled until a letter from Gibson is discovered that might shed some light on the case--a letter concerning former Scotland Yard detective John Madden. Despite Madden's legendary memory, he has no recollection of meeting Gibson or any idea of what their relationship might have been. Madden is happily retired from police work, but agrees to help his former prot g Styles and the clues they uncover only deepen the mystery. When a third man is killed in a similar fashion, Madden and Styles find themselves in a race against time to find the killer before another man ends up dead.

About the Author

Rennie Airth is the author of six novels, including the John Madden series. The first, River of Darkness, was nominated for Edgar, Anthony, and Macavity awards, and won the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143126942
ISBN-10: 0143126946
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: February 24th, 2015
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: John Madden Mystery