Magpie Murders (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Magpie Murders Cover Image
$27.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


 

Famed mystery novelist Alan Conway's final manuscript in his popular Atticus Pünd series just might contain all the clues to a very real, very dangerous, very cunning murder. It's up to Susan Ryeland, Conway's former editor, to read both his manuscript and the real-life clues left behind to solve not one, but two murders. Fans of Christie and Sayers will delight at the puzzles, intricacies, and plotting of  Conway's manuscript and fans of thrillers will be riveted by the Ryeland's race against the clock to solve the crime Conway's manuscript hints at. One of the most clever, pleasing, and spell-binding reads of the year. From the author of House of Silk and creator of Foyle's War. Honestly, what's not to love?! - Sam

— From Sam's Staff Picks

June 2017 Indie Next List


“Who better than the talented Anthony Horowitz to create this marvelous mystery within a mystery. Yes, we're treated to two mysteries for the price of one: One set in a peaceful village in England during the 1950s with the one and only Detective Atticus Pund taking the case, and the other set in contemporary times with a book editor who becomes an amateur sleuth. Horowitz pays tribute to the golden age of British crime with references to mysteries created by the likes of Dorothy Sayers and Agatha Christie. How many hidden gems can you come up with? A perfect book to read in a cushy chair with a cup of tea (hot or iced).”
— Ken Favell (M), Books & Company, Oconomowoc, WI

Description


"Magpie Murders is a double puzzle for puzzle fans, who don't often get the classicism they want from contemporary thrillers." --Janet Maslin, The New York Times

*A New York Times bestseller

*#1 Indie Next Pick

*NPR best book of 2017

*Amazon best book of 2017

*Washington Post best book of 2017

*Esquire best book of 2017

From the New York Times bestselling author of Moriarty and Trigger Mortis, this fiendishly brilliant, riveting thriller weaves a classic whodunit worthy of Agatha Christie into a chilling, ingeniously original modern-day mystery.

When editor Susan Ryeland is given the manuscript of Alan Conway's latest novel, she has no reason to think it will be much different from any of his others. After working with the bestselling crime writer for years, she's intimately familiar with his detective, Atticus P nd, who solves mysteries disturbing sleepy English villages. An homage to queens of classic British crime such as Agatha Christie and Dorothy Sayers, Alan's traditional formula has proved hugely successful. So successful that Susan must continue to put up with his troubling behavior if she wants to keep her job.

Conway's latest tale has Atticus P nd investigating a murder at Pye Hall, a local manor house. Yes, there are dead bodies and a host of intriguing suspects, but the more Susan reads, the more she's convinced that there is another story hidden in the pages of the manuscript: one of real-life jealousy, greed, ruthless ambition, and murder.

Masterful, clever, and relentlessly suspenseful, Magpie Murders is a deviously dark take on vintage English crime fiction in which the reader becomes the detective.



Coverage from NPR

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062645227
ISBN-10: 0062645226
Publisher: Harper
Publication Date: June 6th, 2017
Pages: 496
Language: English