What She Saw: A Novel (Paperback)

What She Saw: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A taut, stylish thriller set over the course of twenty-four hours in Paris—perfect for fans of Chris Pavone's The Expats and Olen Steinhauer's The Tourist.

The storied Hotel Chevalier on Paris’ ritzy Right Bank hosts celebrities, dignitaries, and—for one night—Lana Gibson, an American woman who’s escaped the monotony of her staid married life for a cultural jaunt to the City of Light. As long as she takes her meds, she promises herself, her heightened curiosity and manic elation will stay under control.

But when that curiosity leads her to the hotel’s private elevator which serves only the ultra-elite penthouse Suite Imperial, she spies much more than plush carpets and gilt chandeliers: a young woman caught in the clutches of a threatening-looking older man. Unable to erase the image of the girl in danger from her mind, Lana alerts the police, plunging herself into a firestorm of intrigue and becoming a target.

As she engages in a cat-and-mouse game that plays out across the streets of Paris, it emerges that the older man is a prominent public figure, and the murky situation only offers more questions: Is he being set up? Who stands to gain the most from his downfall? Not knowing who has her best interests at heart, Lana will need to use every ounce of strength and guile as she races to discover the relationship between the truth and what she saw.

Set against the glittering city of Paris, What She Saw is a hypnotic, thoroughly compelling thriller that will leave readers guessing until the final pages.

 

 

 

Praise For…


“Writer and director Stembridge creates an indefatigable protagonist, emboldened and energized by her mania, in a chase through the vividly portrayed City of Lights. A thoroughly entertaining mix of suspense and setting.”

“A fast-paced romp through the streets of Paris, with menace lurking in surprising quarters, a memorable cast of lively characters, and some terrific twists.”

“What She Saw is a smart, taut, modern thriller, filled with energy and suspense. I felt like I was right next to Lana, navigating the streets of Paris at all hours, trying to anticipate the next, unpredictable move.”

“This deliciously sharp thriller places us firmly in Hitchcock territory; a sophisticated city, a troubled protagonist, sex, scandal, politics and a cast of characters you just can’t trust, all delivered with a thoroughly modern sensibility. WHAT SHE SAW is original, stylish and intriguing.”

“Take a deep breath and plunge into Gerard Stembridge’s stylish thriller WHAT SHE SAW. A taut, high stakes cat-and-mouse game in Paris, with Lana, a bi-polar expat, caught in the eye of a scandal. It’s got it all: fashion, l’amour, and politics à la Française. Twists galore and I rooted for Lana all the way.”

“A gripping modern noir, with a classic caper plot and a beguiling Parisian setting. WHAT SHE SAW is atmospheric and propulsive.”

“Gerard Stembridge had me by the lapels; he’s found an entirely new way to drop a civilian into the middle of a delectable and elaborate conspiracy. Even better, the civilian in this case is the resourceful, unreasonably-elated, and hard-to-anticipate Lana Turner. WHAT SHE SAW is a book for anyone who loves Paris, hates bullies, and sometimes misses her meds.”

“Stembridge paints evil villains and a resourceful heroine with a fascinating supporting cast to hold the vivid plot together . . . This is a well done mystery by Stembridge! 4 stars.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062568984
ISBN-10: 0062568981
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Publication Date: May 23rd, 2017
Pages: 320
Language: English