London Rain: A New Mystery Featuring Josephine Tey (Josephine Tey Mysteries) (Paperback)

London Rain: A New Mystery Featuring Josephine Tey (Josephine Tey Mysteries) Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Intrepid writer and amateur sleuth Josephine Tey returns in this sixth installment of Nicola Upson’s popular series—perfect for fans of Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot and Jaqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs—that unfolds in 1930s London as England prepares to crown a new king.

London, 1937. Following the gloomy days of the abdication of King Edward VIII, the entire city is elated to welcome King George. Just one of the many planned festivities for the historic coronation is a BBC radio adaptation of Queen of Scots, and the original playwright, Josephine Tey, has been invited to sit in on rehearsals.

Soon, however, Josephine gets wrapped up in another sort of drama. The lead actress has been sleeping with Britain’s most venerable newsman, Anthony Beresford—and his humiliated wife happens to work in the building. The sordid affair seems to reach its bloody climax when Beresford is shot to death in his broadcasting booth at the deafening height of the coronation ceremony.

Josephine’s friend Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose thinks he has the case wrapped up. But after two more murders, it falls to Josephine to unravel a web of betrayal, jealousy, and long-held secrets, as she herself is caught in a love triangle of her own.

Charming and provocative, thick with the atmosphere of prewar England, London Rain is a captivating portrait of a city on the edge—and an unforgettable woman always one step ahead of her time.

Praise For…


“A complex and compelling plot with rich historical detail…. A brilliant meditation on love’s depths and darknesses, London Rain stands out on every level…complete with a stunning conclusion.”

“Psychologically complex and twisty…. Upson adroitly confounds the reader’s expectations, and her subtle and emotionally intelligent exploration of Josephine’s relationship…adds depth.”

“The author continues to blend history and fiction seamlessly…. A murder mystery that will keep readers guessing. The glimpses into the changing face of feminism and the politics of the BBC in the late 1930s prove equally intriguing.”

“This book is what historical crime is all about.”

“Revenge, murder, and royal pageantry…. The complexity of the overlapping relationships and a burst of momentum make [this] fictionalized heroine’s sixth case a worthy sequel to its predecessors.”

“For fans of period British crime fiction, this sixth series entry…delivers deft plotting and evocations of the era through charming descriptions of London.… Intriguing.”

“Old secrets come to light involving murder…in the sixth entry in this series, notable for its well-wrought characters and involving plots that vividly capture a time and place.”

“Historical crime fiction at its very best.”

“Lyrical prose…and subtle plotting make Upson’s fifth novel featuring real-life mystery writer Josephine Tey a worthy successor to Fear in the Sunlight, a PW Best Mystery of 2013…. Upson…amply rewards her readers’ patience with a satisfying resolution that feels true to life.”

“Upson…possesses great skills in creating character-driven novels that evoke a strong sense of place, spins this sad but seductive story with grace and intelligence.”

“Upson’s fifth Tey mystery is a hauntingly atmospheric story based on fact with personal reverberations for Josephine herself. A worthy addition to this intriguing series starring a real-life mystery writer and set in between-the-wars England.”

“A deft and agreeably darker addition to the series.”

“Excellent. . . . Upson upsets readers’ expectations with a surprise that keeps the suspense high to the satisfying conclusion. Puzzle fans as well as admirers of psychologically rich crime authors such as Ruth Rendell will find a lot to savor.”

“Upson surpasses herself with her mesmerizing and psychologically complex fourth whodunit featuring real-life mystery writer Josephine Tey. . . . The melancholy tone and pitch-perfect prose add depth to the sinister plot.”

“Lovely. . . . For fans of the British puzzle mystery, there’s a murder in a locked room, a secret passageway, a surfeit of clues, red herrings, and hidden identities.”

“Nicola Upson has . . . given us a highly original and elegantly written novel.”

“Upson’s novel has beautifully rendered the modernist atmosphere of Britain between the wars. Her characters are developed richly…and her plot is a lovely layered puzzle.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062418159
ISBN-10: 0062418157
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Publication Date: March 29th, 2016
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: Josephine Tey Mysteries