The Vanishing Island (Chronicles of the Black Tulip #1) (Hardcover)

The Vanishing Island (Chronicles of the Black Tulip #1) Cover Image
By Barry Wolverton, Dave Stevenson (Illustrator)
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized new book from acclaimed author Barry Wolverton, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.

It's 1599, the Age of Discovery in Europe. But for Bren Owen, growing up in the small town of Map on the coast of Britannia has meant anything but adventure. Enticed by the tales sailors have brought through Map's port, and inspired by the arcane maps his father creates as a cartographer for the cruel and charismatic map mogul named Rand McNally, Bren is convinced that fame and fortune await him elsewhere.

That's when Bren meets a dying sailor, who gives him a strange gift that hides a hidden message. Cracking the code could lead Bren to a fabled lost treasure that could change his life forever, and that of his widowed father. Before long, Bren is in greater danger than he ever imagined and will need the help of an unusual friend named Mouse to survive.

Praise For…


“A gripping high-seas adventure packed with action, magic, and folklore spanning East and West. Fast-paced and entertaining, this fine trilogy opener will keep both fantasy and historical-fiction buffs turning the pages.”

“This engaging historical narrative will draw readers in who love stories of adventure and exploration with a strong dose of fantasy.”

“Wolverton’s story speeds along suspensefully through a history intriguingly different from our own.”

“A young boy goes off on a sea-faring adventure, but he doesn’t know what he’s in for. With bone-chilling scenes and heart-stopping action, this is a series you don’t want to miss.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062221902
ISBN-10: 0062221906
Publisher: Walden Pond Press
Publication Date: September 1st, 2015
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: Chronicles of the Black Tulip