All Day and a Night: A Novel of Suspense (Ellie Hatcher) (Paperback)

All Day and a Night: A Novel of Suspense (Ellie Hatcher) Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A new murder case with ties to a convicted serial killer leads Detective Ellie Hatcher into a twisting investigation with explosive and deadly results in this superb mystery from the “terrific web spinner” (Entertainment Weekly) Alafair Burke.

When psychotherapist Helen Brunswick is murdered in her Park Slope office, the entire city suspects her estranged husband—until the District Attorney’s office receives an anonymous letter. The letter’s author knows a chilling detail that police have kept secret: the victim’s bones were broken after she was killed. Her injuries were eerily similar to the signature used twenty years earlier by Anthony Amaro, a serial killer serving a life sentence for his crimes. Now, Amaro is asking to be released from prison, arguing that he was wrongly convicted, and that the true killer is still on the loose.

NYPD Detectives Ellie Hatcher and JJ Rogan are tapped as the “fresh look” team to reassess the original investigation that led to Amaro’s conviction. The case pits them against both their fellow officers and a hard-charging celebrity defense lawyer with a young associate named Carrie Blank, whose older sister was one of Amaro’s victims.

As the NYPD and Amaro’s lawyers search for certainty among conflicting evidence, their investigations take them back to Carrie’s hometown, where secrets buried long ago lead to a brutal attack—one that makes it terrifyingly clear that someone has gotten too close to the truth.

Praise For…


“The strength of the novel is its complexity: The characters are variegated, textured, operating out of a range of motivations, personal and otherwise.”

“If it was me on the slab at the coroner’s office I would want Ellie Hatcher on the case. Burke’s detective is one of the best in the business and this take on New York City could only come from a writer who knows its darkness and light so well.”

“Burke at her finest: razor sharp twists, stunning surprises and artfully drawn characters. The insider’s view of criminal prosecution is masterfully wrought and as usual, Burke makes you feel like you’re riding along with the detectives in the back of their unmarked car. You won’t want to miss this one.”

“Compulsively readable.”

“Compelling….Burke’s talent as a writer continues to grow along with Ellie’s character. Although this is the fifth book in the Ellie Hatcher series, there isn’t a better starting point than All Day and a Night, which will keep the reader up all night.”

“This is a book that you cannot and will not be able to be put down. An intricate puzzle, this mystery is so well written that the culprit is impossible to figure out. A definite keeper!”

“Perfect for Law & Order freaks who want some ripped-from-the-headlines intrigue with their beachside mai tais.”

“Spring loaded and razor sharp, All Day and a Night is a surprising and compelling thriller. But Alafair Burke has given us something more gripping than just a crime novel. Her story is about women, their drive, their compassion, and their public and private battles for success and acceptance.”

“Alafair Burke is as good as any living writer at capturing what crime is like in New York City.”

“A masterfully plotted, psychologically complex thriller, Alafair Burke’s All Day and a Night raises larger questions about the choices we make, the mistakes we can’t undo. Whip-smart and emotionally deft, it delivers all the way through its final pages.”

“Gripping…a propulsive thriller.”

“A satisfying police procedural with added interest from alternating perspectives of detective and attorney. For fans of Lisa Gardner and Tess Gerritsen, and readers who enjoy tough female police officer protagonists and complex plots.”

“Addictive.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062208392
ISBN-10: 006220839X
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Publication Date: June 16th, 2015
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: Ellie Hatcher