The Girl in the Picture (Paperback)

The Girl in the Picture Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Two women. One house. Centuries of secrets.

East Sussex Coast, 1855

Violet Hargreaves is the lonely daughter of a widowed industrialist, and an aspiring Pre-Raphaelite painter. One day, the na ve eighteen-year-old meets the mysterious and handsome Edwin on the beach. He promises her a world beyond the small coastal village she's trapped in. But after she ignores warnings about Edwin, a chain of terrible events begins to unfold for Violet...

East Sussex Coast, 2016

For thriller-writer Ella Daniels, the house on the cliff, where she's moved with her young family, is the perfect place to overcome writer's block. But there's a strange atmosphere that settles once they move in - and Ella's intrigued when she hears stories of brutal murders in the house next door more than 150 years ago. When Ella uncovers a portrait of a beautiful young girl named Violet Hargreaves, who went missing at the same time as the horrific crimes, she becomes determined to find out what happened. And in trying to lay Violet's ghost to rest, Ella must face ghosts of her own...

This haunting timeslip tale is perfect for fans of Kate Riordan, Tracy Rees, Kate Morton and Lucinda Riley.

Praise for Kerry Barrett

'A fantastic and engaging read. Kerry Barrett truly is a very talented author. It's absolutely perfect for summer holidays or wintry days snuggled on the sofa.' - Bab's Bookshelf

'This was a really enjoyable read. I highly recommend this book.' - Fiona's Book Reviews

'There aren't enough stars for this fun, deep and relaxing read. Highly recommended.' - Michelle, Goodreads Reviewer

About the Author


Kerry Barrett was a bookworm from a very early age and did a degree in English Literature, then trained as a journalist, writing about everything from pub grub to EastEnders. Her first novel, Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered, took six years to finish and was mostly written in longhand on her commute to work, giving her a very good reason to buy beautiful notebooks. Kerry lives in London with her husband and two sons, and Noel Streatfeild's Ballet Shoes is still her favourite novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780008312596
ISBN-10: 0008312591
Publisher: HQ Digital
Publication Date: September 4th, 2018
Pages: 384
Language: English