Best of the Month - March 2022

Secret Identity: A Novel By Alex Segura Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250801746
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - March 15th, 2022

Official Selection:

 

One of our most anticipated books of 2022!

It’s 1975 and the comic book industry is struggling, but Carmen Valdez doesn’t care. She’s an assistant at Triumph Comics, which doesn’t have the creative zeal of Marvel nor the buttoned-up efficiency of DC, but it doesn’t matter. Carmen is tantalizingly close to fulfilling her dream of writing a superhero book. That dream is nearly a reality when one of the Triumph writers enlists her help to create a new character, which they call “The Lethal Lynx,” Triumph's first female hero. But her colleague is acting strangely and asking to keep her involvement a secret. And then he’s found dead... 

"With Secret Identity, Alex Segura perfectly recreates the 1970s comics industry, while at the same time creating a unique new character in the center of that world, and giving her a murder to solve as she struggles with the sexism of her times. This book was a page-turner in the best ways, but the characters and their lives felt so real that I found myself wishing it would continue even past the mystery. A truly special noir book.” —Ed Brubaker, Eisner-winning writer of Criminal and Winter Soldier


Money Shot (Angel Dare) By Christa Faust Cover Image
$9.95
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780857683465
Published: Hard Case Crime - March 29th, 2011

Bonus Selection:

 

Faust, well-known for her work in the comics industry, wrote this terrific, pulpy revenge tale, nominated for an Edgar Award. Angel Dare, porn star, is left for dead, but she's a fighter and will track down the folks who did this to her. 


Canary By Duane Swierczynski Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780316403191
Availability: Special Order
Published: Mulholland Books - January 19th, 2016

Bonus Selection:

Another comic writer, and one whose books always top our year's-best lists. His cinematic, fast-paced style always brings us unputdownable reads, but this one about Sara Holland, college student turned CI, is perfect for fans of Secret Identity.