Ashley Weaver and Kate Khavari

Ashley Weaver (she/her) is the technical services coordinator at the Allen Parish Libraries in Oberlin, Louisiana. Weaver has worked in libraries since she was fourteen; she was a page and then a clerk before obtaining her MLIS from Louisiana State University. She is the author of the Amory Ames series and the Electra McDonnell series.

Kate Khavari is the author of fiction ranging from historical mysteries to high fantasy epics. She has her parents to thank for her fascination for historical mysteries, as she spent the majority of her childhood memorizing Sherlock Holmes's and Poirot's greatest quips. A former teacher, Kate has a deep appreciation for research and creativity, not to mention the multitasking ability she now relies on as an author and stay at home mother to her toddler son. She lives in the Dallas-Fort Worth area of Texas with her husband, son, and a lovely garden that contains absolutely no poisonous plants.


If you're attending the event:

  • A copy of the author's new book must be purchased from MBTB in order to obtain a line number and get anything signed.   
  • Line Numbers for the event will be available starting the day the book goes on sale, but you can preorder at any time and we'll pull a number for you when the book is released.
  • Seating and parking are first come, first served. 
  • If you're unsure you can make the event and would like your copy personalized / inscribed, please include personalization information in the order comments. 
  • Our signing policies can be found here.

If you can't make an event and need to order signed copies: 

  • If you would like your copy personalized, please include inscription information in the order comments. 
  • If your order contains a preorder, it will not ship until it's complete. If you would prefer to have your books shipped as they're released we recommend placing separate orders or ordering in batches with similar release dates.
  • Signed / personalized copies won't ship until after the event. You'll receive tracking info from stamps.com 

Event date: 

Saturday, June 8, 2024 - 3:00pm

Event address: 

2342 Bissonnet St.
Houston, TX 77005
Locked in Pursuit: An Electra McDonnell Novel (Electra McDonnell Series #4) By Ashley Weaver Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781250885906
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - May 14th, 2024

The fourth instalment in Ashley Weaver's delightful series, Locked in Pursuit follows safecracker Electra McDonnell fighting Nazis at every turn as World War II looms over London.


A Botanist's Guide to Society and Secrets (A Saffron Everleigh Mystery #3) By Kate Khavari Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781639106622
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crooked Lane Books - June 4th, 2024

Brilliant botanist Saffron Everleigh is ready for her next thrilling adventure in the newest installment of Kate Khavari’s mesmerizing historical mystery series.

“A cleverly plotted puzzle” (Ashley Weaver) in the vein of Opium and Absinthe, this is perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Sujata Massey.


Playing It Safe: An Electra McDonnell Novel (Electra McDonnell Series #3) By Ashley Weaver Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250885890
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - May 14th, 2024

The third in the Electra McDonnell series from Edgar-nominated author Ashley Weaver, Playing It Safe is a delightful World War II mystery filled with spies, murder, romance, and wit.

“Ellie is a smart and gutsy new heroine.” —Anna Lee Huber


The Key to Deceit: An Electra McDonnell Novel (Electra McDonnell Series #2) By Ashley Weaver Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250889935
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - May 9th, 2023

The second in the Electra McDonnell series from Edgar-nominated author Ashley Weaver, The Key to Deceit, is a delightful World War II mystery filled with spies, murder, romance, and wit.


A Peculiar Combination: An Electra McDonnell Novel (Electra McDonnell Series #1) By Ashley Weaver Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9781250847621
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - May 10th, 2022

The first in the Electra McDonnell series from Edgar-nominated author Ashley Weaver, set in England during World War II, A Peculiar Combination is a delightful mystery filled with spies, murder, romance, and the author's signature wit.


A Botanist's Guide to Flowers and Fatality (A Saffron Everleigh Mystery #2) By Kate Khavari Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781639106578
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crooked Lane Books - April 9th, 2024

Brilliant botanist Saffron Everleigh is back and ready for adventure in Kate Khavari’s next mesmerizing historical mystery.

“A cleverly plotted puzzle” (Ashley Weaver) in the vein of Opium and Absinthe, this second installment is perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Sujata Massey.


A Botanist's Guide to Parties and Poisons (A Saffron Everleigh Mystery #1) By Kate Khavari Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781639102709
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crooked Lane Books - April 4th, 2023

The Lost Apothecary meets Dead Dead Girls in this fast-paced, STEMinist adventure.

Debut author Kate Khavari deftly entwines a pulse-pounding mystery with the struggles of a woman in a male-dominated field in 1923 London.