Hayley Scrivenor in conversation with Hannah Kent - Virtual Event

Originally from a small country town in rural Australia, Hayley Scrivenor is a writer, teacher and former Director of Wollongong Writers Festival. Dirt Creek is her first novel. An earlier version of the book was shortlisted for the Penguin Literary Prize and won The Kill Your Darlings Unpublished Manuscript Award. Hayley lives and writes on Dharawal country, on the south coast of New South Wales in Australia.

Hannah Kent was born in Adelaide in 1985. Her first novel, Burial Rites, has been translated into nearly thirty languages and was shortlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction (formerly the Orange Prize), the Guardian First Book Award and the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. Hannah is also the co-founder and publishing director of Australian literary journal Kill Your DarlingsThe Good People is her second novel.


Two Ways To Watch:

On YouTube:
Most of our events can be watched live on the Murder By The Book YouTube page, which can be found HERE. When it’s time for the event to begin, you should be able to refresh the page until the live video shows up as a new post. Or, if you've subscribed to our channel you'll get a notification when we go live. If you miss the beginning of the talk, as soon as it wraps up you can find it on our YOUTUBE CHANNEL to watch from the beginning.

On Facebook:
Most of our events can also be watched live on the Murder By The Book Facebook page, which can be found HERE. When it’s time for the event to begin, you should be able to refresh the page until the live video shows up as a new post. Or, if you have turned on Live Notifications for the page (for directions, click HERE), you’ll get a notification every time we go live and you can click that link. If you miss the beginning of the talk, as soon as it wraps up you can find it in our VIDEOS to watch from the beginning. 

Event date: 

Tuesday, August 2, 2022 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

2342 Bissonnet St.
Houston, TX 77005
Dirt Creek: A Novel By Hayley Scrivenor Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250834751
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - August 2nd, 2022

Who's lying about what happened at Dirt Creek?

“Blends a taut psychological thriller with a suspenseful police procedural…Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jane Harper won’t want to miss this page-turner.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review


The Good People By Hannah Kent Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316243957
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - July 10th, 2018

From the author of Burial Rites, "a literary novel with the pace and tension of a thriller that takes us on a frightening journey towards an unspeakable tragedy" (Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of The Girl on the Train and Into the Water).


Staff Pick Badge
Burial Rites By Hannah Kent Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316243926
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - April 1st, 2014

Set against Iceland's stark landscape, Hannah Kent brings to vivid life the story of Agnes, who, charged with the brutal murder of her former master, is sent to an isolated farm to await execution.