Cate Quinn in conversation with Alison Wisdom

Cate Quinn is a bestselling historical thriller novelist in the UK under the name C.S. Quinn--her Charlie Tuesday series for Thomas & Mercer UK sold over 350,000 copies across four books, and 35,000 ebooks in the U.S. She is also a travel and lifestyle journalist for The Times, The Guardian, and The Mirror, alongside many magazines. She is the author of Black Widows and The Clinic under the name Cate Quinn.

Born, raised, and based in Houston, Texas, Alison Wisdom has an MFA from the Vermont College of Fine Arts, received a novel-writing grant from Wedgwood Circle, and was a finalist for this year's Rona Jaffe Award. She has attended Tin House and the Lighthouse Writers Workshop, where she was a finalist for the Emerging Writers Fellowship. Alison's short stories have been published in Ploughshares, Electric Literature, The Rumpus, Indiana Review, and more.


If you're attending the event:

  • A copy of the author's new book must be purchased from MBTB in order to obtain a line number and get anything signed.   
  • Line Numbers for the event will be available starting the day the book goes on sale, but you can preorder at any time and we'll pull a number for you when the book is released.
  • Seating and parking are first come, first served. 
  • If you're unsure you can make the event and would like your copy personalized / inscribed, please include personalization information in the order comments. 
  • Our signing policies can be found here.

If you can't make an event and need to order signed copies: 

  • If you would like your copy personalized, please include inscription information in the order comments. 
  • If your order contains a preorder, it will not ship until it's complete. If you would prefer to have your books shipped as they're released we recommend placing separate orders or ordering in batches with similar release dates.
  • Signed / personalized copies won't ship until after the event. You'll receive tracking info from stamps.com 

Event date: 

Saturday, January 27, 2024 - 3:00pm

Event address: 

2342 Bissonnet St.
Houston, TX 77005
The Clinic: A Novel By Cate Quinn Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781464216213
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - January 23rd, 2024

From the critically acclaimed author of Black Widows comes a thriller set in a remote rehab clinic on the Pacific Northwest coast, in which the death of a woman inside prompts her sister to enter the clinic as a patient in order to find the truth. Perfect for fans of Stacy Willingham and Tarryn Fisher!


The Clinic: A Novel By Cate Quinn Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728293981
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - January 23rd, 2024

"A superior, creeping psychological thriller taut with tension and drama."The Seattle Times

"Easily the creepiest setting for a suspense novel since the Overlook Hotel in Stephen King's The Shining." —BookPage


The Burning Season: A Novel By Alison Wisdom Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063097582
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - July 5th, 2022

ONE OF GLAMOUR'S BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR

"This masterful novel combines readable, lyrical prose with a compelling plot and complex characters. . . . Wisdom weaves these tangled threads with overarching themes of how the patriarchy controls women’s minds and bodies." —Booklist (Starred Review)