MTM Presents Karen Odden - Virtual Event

Karen Odden earned her Ph.D. in English from New York University and subsequently taught literature at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. She has contributed essays to numerous books and journals, written introductions for Victorian novels in the Barnes & Noble classics series, and edited for the journal Victorian Literature and Culture (Cambridge UP). Her previous novels, also set in 1870s London, have won awards for historical fiction and mystery. A member of Mystery Writers of America and Sisters in Crime and the recipient of a grant from the Arizona Commission on the Arts, Karen lives in Arizona with her family and her rescue beagle Rosy.

Sara DiVello is a yoga teacher by day, mystery writer by night. She’s a life-long passionate reader and mystery-lover. Sara loves chatting all things books, the joy of reading, the craft of writing, and connecting readers to their favorite authors…or introducing them to their new favorites! She has interviewed over 100 mystery and thriller authors--from celebs to debuts--and created the “Mystery and Thriller Mavens” Facebook Group, a free, online book group where readers can watch and participate in interviews, enter giveaways, and dish about their latest books. All are welcome. You can also find out more at https://www.mysteryandthrillermavens.com/.


Two Ways To Watch:

On YouTube:
Most of our events can be watched live on the Murder By The Book YouTube page, which can be found HERE. When it’s time for the event to begin, you should be able to refresh the page until the live video shows up as a new post. Or, if you've subscribed to our channel you'll get a notification when we go live. If you miss the beginning of the talk, as soon as it wraps up you can find it on our YOUTUBE CHANNEL to watch from the beginning.

On Facebook:
Most of our events can also be watched live on the Murder By The Book Facebook page, which can be found HERE. When it’s time for the event to begin, you should be able to refresh the page until the live video shows up as a new post. Or, if you have turned on Live Notifications for the page (for directions, click HERE), you’ll get a notification every time we go live and you can click that link. If you miss the beginning of the talk, as soon as it wraps up you can find it in our VIDEOS to watch from the beginning. 

Event date: 

Monday, December 20, 2021 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

2342 Bissonnet St.
Houston, TX 77005
Down a Dark River (An Inspector Corravan Mystery) Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781643858692
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crooked Lane Books - November 9th, 2021

In the vein of C. S. Harris and Anne Perry, Karen Odden’s mystery introduces Inspector Michael Corravan as he investigates a string of vicious murders that has rocked Victorian London’s upper crust.


A Trace of Deceit: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062796622
Availability: Able to Backorder
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - December 17th, 2019

From the author of A Dangerous Duet comes the next book in her Victorian mystery series, this time following a daring female painter and the Scotland Yard detective who is investigating her brother’s suspicious death.


A Dangerous Duet: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062796967
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - November 6th, 2018

Winner of the New Mexico-Arizona Book Award for Historical Fiction