Fleur Bradley - Virtual Event

Fleur Bradley is an active member of SCBWI and MWA, where she has judged for the Edgars. She regularly does school and Skype visits, as well as librarian and educator conference talks on reaching reluctant readers. Originally from the Netherlands, she now lives in Colorado, not too far from the historic (and haunted) Stanley Hotel, which partly inspired this manuscript.

Jennifer J. Chow is the Lefty Award-nominated author of the Sassy Cat Mysteries and the L.A. Night Market Mysteries. The first in the Sassy Cat series, Mimi Lee Gets A Clue, was selected as an Overdrive Recommended Read; a PopSugar Best Summer Beach Read; and one of BuzzFeed’s Top 5 Books by AAPI authors. She currently serves as Vice President on the national board of Sisters in Crime and is an active member of Crime Writers of Color and Mystery Writers of America. Connect with her online at www.jenniferjchow.com.

Jennifer Chambliss Bertman was born and raised in the San Francisco Bay Area. She holds an MFA in creative writing and has worked for literary agencies, magazines, educational publishers, and as a freelance copyeditor and proofreader. Book Scavenger is her debut novel.

Bryan Patrick Avery is a chief technologist and systems development director from Silicon Valley. He's also an award-winning poet and author of multiple children's books, including The Freeman Field Photograph and the chapter book series Mr. Grizley's Class.

 


Two Ways To Watch:

On YouTube:
Most of our events can be watched live on the Murder By The Book YouTube page, which can be found HERE. When it’s time for the event to begin, you should be able to refresh the page until the live video shows up as a new post. Or, if you've subscribed to our channel you'll get a notification when we go live. If you miss the beginning of the talk, as soon as it wraps up you can find it on our YOUTUBE CHANNEL to watch from the beginning.

On Facebook:
Most of our events can also be watched live on the Murder By The Book Facebook page, which can be found HERE. When it’s time for the event to begin, you should be able to refresh the page until the live video shows up as a new post. Or, if you have turned on Live Notifications for the page (for directions, click HERE), you’ll get a notification every time we go live and you can click that link. If you miss the beginning of the talk, as soon as it wraps up you can find it in our VIDEOS to watch from the beginning. 

Event date: 

Tuesday, August 23, 2022 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

2342 Bissonnet St.
Houston, TX 77005
Daybreak on Raven Island By Fleur Bradley Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593404638
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 23rd, 2022

From the critically acclaimed author of Midnight at the Barclay Hotel comes a thrilling new middle grade mystery novel inspired by Alcatraz Prison.


Midnight at the Barclay Hotel By Fleur Bradley, Xavier Bonet (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Fleur Bradley, Xavier Bonet (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593202913
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 24th, 2021

Hunting ghosts and solving the case before checkout? All in a weekend's work.

Read the novel that New York Times bestselling author, Chris Grabenstein calls, "My kind of mystery!"


Death by Bubble Tea (LA Night Market #1) By Jennifer J. Chow Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593336533
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - July 5th, 2022

Two cousins who start a food stall at their local night market get a serving of murder in this first novel of a delicious new cozy mystery series by Jennifer J. Chow, bestselling author of Mimi Lee Gets a Clue.


Mimi Lee Cracks the Code (A Sassy Cat Mystery #3) By Jennifer J. Chow Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984805034
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - November 30th, 2021

One of BookRiot's Best Upcoming Cozy Mysteries for the Second Half of 2021!

When murder follows Mimi Lee to her romantic island getaway, she puts on her best sleuthing hat with her sassy cat in tow in this adventurous cozy mystery by Jennifer J. Chow.

 


Mimi Lee Reads Between the Lines (A Sassy Cat Mystery #2) By Jennifer J. Chow Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984805010
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - November 10th, 2020

When a local teacher is found dead, LA’s newest pet groomer Mimi Lee finds herself in a pawful predicament—with her younger sister’s livelihood on the line.


Mimi Lee Gets a Clue (A Sassy Cat Mystery #1) By Jennifer J. Chow Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984804990
Availability: Able to Backorder
Published: Berkley - March 10th, 2020

Nominated for a Lefty Award!

Mimi Lee is in over her head. There's her new Los Angeles pet grooming shop to run, her matchmaking mother to thwart, her talking cat Marshmallow to tend to—oh, and the murder of a local breeder to solve...now if only Mimi hadn't landed herself on top of the suspect list. 


Pre-Order Now Badge
Sisterhood of Sleuths By Jennifer Chambliss Bertman, Vesper Stamper (Illustrator) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316331074
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Christy Ottaviano Books - October 4th, 2022

A clever and thought-provoking mystery that pays homage to classic Nancy Drew stories, perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Trenton Lee Stewart. 

Maizy always assumed she knew everything about her grandmother, Jacuzzi. So when a box full of vintage Nancy Drew books gets left at her mom’s thrift store, Maizy is surprised to find an old photo&


The Alcatraz Escape (The Book Scavenger series #3) By Jennifer Chambliss Bertman, Sarah Watts (Illustrator) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250308702
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - May 7th, 2019

Sleuthing duo Emily and James tackle their most challenging mystery yet set on the haunting Alcatraz Island in Book 3 of the New York Times-bestselling, middle-grade Book Scavenger series by Jennifer Chambliss Bertman!


The Unbreakable Code (The Book Scavenger series #2) By Jennifer Chambliss Bertman Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250158390
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - May 1st, 2018

Could books hidden through the Book Scavenger game be linked to an arsonist's web of destruction? Find out in the New York Times-bestselling second book in the action packed Book Scavenger series by Jennifer Chambliss Bertman.


Book Scavenger (The Book Scavenger series #1) By Jennifer Chambliss Bertman Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781250079800
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - April 12th, 2016

A New York Times bestseller!


Rahma's Gift By Bryan Patrick Avery, Arief Putra (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Bryan Patrick Avery, Arief Putra (Illustrator)
$5.95
ISBN: 9781666339130
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picture Window Books - August 1st, 2022

Rahma's special gift is she's good at helping her classmates make up when then have arguments. But when one of her friends gets mad at her, she isn't sure why her friend is upset or what to do about it. Can Mr. Grizley help Rahma figure out how to repair her friendship?


The Freeman Field Photograph By Bryan Patrick Avery, Jerome T. White (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781950169450
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Spork - April 27th, 2021

In the Freeman Field Photograph, Sidney fears she may never see her Daddy again. Her father, a Tuskegee Airman, has been arrested for protesting segregation at Freeman Army Airfield. Proud, but sad, Sidney seeks one last photograph of her father, setting off to find the one man she believes can help.


Black Men in Science: A Black History Book for Kids By Bryan Patrick Avery Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781638782155
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Rockridge Press - February 1st, 2022

Incredible stories of Black men who changed the course of science―for kids ages 8 to 12


Bestselling author Chris Grabenstein and the Mystery Writers of America bring together twenty peerless puzzles—from bestselling authors such as Peter Lerangis, Stuart Gibbs, Lauren Magaziner, Kate Milford, and, of course, Grabenstein himself—in an anthology of mystery short stories that invite readers to try to unravel the riddles themselves.