Evie's Book Drive

5-Minute Disney Classic Stories (5-Minute Stories) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368006767
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney Press - September 25th, 2018

From Pinocchio to Stitch, everyone's favorite classic Disney characters are featured in this storybook!


The Book Thief Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780375842207
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 11th, 2007

DON’T MISS BRIDGE OF CLAY, MARKUS ZUSAK’S FIRST NOVEL SINCE THE BOOK THIEF.
 
The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.
 


Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Cover Image
By Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780142410318
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - August 16th, 2007

From the author of The BFG and Matilda!


Clementine (A Clementine Book #1) Cover Image
By Sara Pennypacker, Marla Frazee (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780786838837
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hyperion Books for Children - February 15th, 2008


Clementine is having not so good of a week.

  • On Monday she's sent to the principal's office for cutting off Margaret's hair.
  • Tuesday, Margaret's mother is mad at her.
  • Wednesday, she's sent to the principal?again.
  • Thursday, Margaret stops speaking to her.
  • Friday starts with yucky eggs and gets worse.


First 100 Words Bilingual: Primeras 100 palabras - Spanish-English Bilingual Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780312515836
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Priddy Books - February 19th, 2013

First 100 Words Bilingual es un must-have para el aprendizaje de los lectores más pequeños, y es una herramienta ideal para ensenar nuevas palabras en dos idiomas: inglés y español. Entre las páginas, hay más de 100 fotografías sobresalientes de alimentos, animales, juguetes, y más que los niños reconocerán en sus propias vidas.


The Hamilton Affair: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781628728552
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arcade - June 6th, 2017

For fans of Hamilton and Lin-Manuel Miranda, here is the New York Times bestselling novel that Cosmopolitan called,A juicy answer to Ron Chernow's Alexander Hamilton.

Set against the dramatic backdrop of the American Revolution, and featuring a cast of legendary characters, historian and master storyteller Elizabeth Cobbs tells the sw


The Hate U Give Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062498533
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 28th, 2017

8 starred reviews ∙ Goodreads Choice Awards Best of the Best  ∙  William C. Morris Award Winner ∙ National Book Award Longlist ∙ Printz Honor Book ∙ Coretta Scott King Honor Book ∙ #1 New York Times Bestseller!

"Absolutely riveting!" —Jason Reynolds


Hidden Figures Young Readers' Edition Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780062662378
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - November 29th, 2016

The uplifting, amazing true story—a New York Times bestseller


I Am Enough Cover Image
By Grace Byers, Keturah A. Bobo (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062667120
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 6th, 2018

A New York Times bestseller and Goodreads Choice Awards picture book winner!

This is a gorgeous, lyrical ode to loving who you are, respecting others, and being kind to one another—from Empire actor and activist Grace Byers and talented newcomer artist Keturah A. Bobo.


I Am Malala: How One Girl Stood Up for Education and Changed the World (Young Readers Edition) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316327916
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 14th, 2016

The bestselling memoir by Nobel Peace Prize winner Malala Yousafzai.

I Am Malala. This is my story.


Malala Yousafzai was only ten years old when the Taliban took control of her region. They said music was a crime. They said women weren't allowed to go to the market. They said girls couldn't go to school.


Last Week Tonight with John Oliver Presents A Day in the Life of Marlon Bundo (Better Bundo Book, LGBT Children’s Book) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781452173801
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - March 18th, 2018

100% of Last Week Tonight's proceeds will be donated to The Trevor Project and AIDS United.

HBO's Emmy-winning Last Week Tonight with John Oliver presents a children's picture book about a Very Special boy bunny who falls in love with another boy bunny.


Madeline Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780140564396
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - May 1st, 2000

In an old house in Paris
that was covered with vines
lived twelve little girls
in two straight lines
the smallest one was Madeline.
 
 


Merriam-Webster's Illustrated Spanish-English Student Dictionary Cover Image
By Merriam-Webster (Manufactured by)
$21.95
ISBN: 9780877791775
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Merriam-Webster - June 1st, 2012

A resource especially for students aged 9-12 years learning Spanish.


The Story of Babar (Babar Series) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780394805757
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers -

The classic story of literature’s most beloved elephant. After his mother is killed by a hunter, Babar avoids capture by escaping to the city, where he is befriended by the kindly Old Lady. Later, with cousins Celeste and Arthur, he returns to the great forest to be crowned King of the Elephants.


The Story of Ferdinand Cover Image
By Munro Leaf, Robert Lawson (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9780448456942
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grosset & Dunlap - March 31st, 2011

Soon to be a major motion picture!


Where the Sidewalk Ends Special Edition with 12 Extra Poems: Poems and Drawings Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780060572341
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - February 18th, 2014


Wonder Movie Tie-In Edition Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524720193
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 26th, 2017

A special movie tie-in edition of R.J. Palacio's #1 New York Times bestseller.
 
Over 8 million people have fallen in love with Wonder and Auggie Pullman, the ordinary boy with the extraordinary face, who inspired a movement to Choose Kind and an upcoming graphic novel White Bird  - on sale 10/1/2019!


A Wrinkle in Time: 50th Anniversary Commemorative Edition (A Wrinkle in Time Quintet #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250004673
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - January 31st, 2012

The 50th Anniversary Commemorative Edition of Madeleine L'Engle's ground-breaking science fiction and fantasy classic, now a major motion picture.

Fifty years ago, Madeleine L'Engle introduced the world to A Wrinkle in Time and the wonderful and unforgettable characters Meg and Charles Wallace Murry, and their friend Calvin O'Keefe.


Unbelievably Boring Bart Cover Image
By James Patterson, Duane Swierczynski (With), Xavier Bonet (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9780316411530
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: jimmy patterson - September 3rd, 2018

Invisible creatures are attacking the school, and a 12-year-old boy is the only one who can stop them in this fun, hilarious middle grade novel.


Who is the Mystery Reader? (Unlimited Squirrels) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368046862
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hyperion Books for Children - October 1st, 2019

From Mo Willems, creator of the revolutionary, award-winning, best-selling Elephant & Piggie books, comes this breakout beginning-reader series. An ensemble cast of Squirrels, Acorns, and pop-in guests host a page-turning extravaganza. Each book features a funny, furry adventure AND bonus jokes, quirky quizzes, nutty facts, and so, so many Squirrels.


Great Houston Gift Ideas!

Cook Like a Local: Flavors That Can Change How You Cook and See the World: A Cookbook Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781524761264
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarkson Potter - September 3rd, 2019

Signed copies available!

Chris Shepherd, James Beard Award-winning chef of Houston’s Underbelly Hospitality, is a champion of that city’s incredibly diverse immigrant cuisines. In his restaurant, he calls out the names of the cooks--Vietnamese, Korean, Indian, and others—who have inspired him, and in his book, he teaches you how to work with those flavors and cultures with respect and creativity. 


Staff Pick Badge
Secret Houston: A Guide to the Weird, Wonderful, and Obscure Cover Image
$20.95
ISBN: 9781681062099
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Reedy Press - October 15th, 2019

Signed copies available!

Local writer and longtime Houstonian William Dylan Powell helps you unlock Bayou City's most intriguing, entertaining and arcane secrets in this guidebook to the obscure. Some of these secrets you can enjoy today, while others are merely ghosts, legends or shadows of our city's past. But they're all waiting for you to explore right now in Secret Houston.


Houston Cooks: Recipes from the City's Favorite Restaurants and Chefs Cover Image
$32.99
ISBN: 9781773270746
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Figure 1 Publishing - October 15th, 2019

Signed copies available December 5th!

Houston's dining scene is a colorful culinary tapestry of local and international food traditions. Whether it's barbecue, Southern comfort food, or fine dining, H-town is emerging as a foodie destination--there has never been a more exciting time to eat in the Bayou City. Houston Cooks is an exciting collection of eighty signature dishes from forty of the city's leading restaurants. Designed with the home cook in mind, this exciting anthology celebrates a vibrant culinary scene with dishes including Harold in the Heights' shrimp and grits, Harlem Road BBQ's savory lamb chops, The Dunlavy's chocolate-covered cherry pie with stout... and so much more. Houston is regarded as one of the best food cities in the country and with this book, readers can re-create recipes from their favorite restaurants in the comfort of their own homes.


Subscribe to Murder By The Book RSS