Staff Picks

Want to know that the MBTB staff is reading and loving?  These are some titles that are loved by just about everyone at the store.  If you'd like to see staff picks for each member of the staff, click on the name of the staff member below.

September Recommends Sale! 20% off!

Our July sale was so successful we picked another 20 titles for September. These titles are all 20% off. Click on each staff member's name to see which of the 20 titles they picked. 

Brenda Jordan 

McKenna Jordan 

John Kwiatkowski 

Sam Mayer

Sally Woods 

 


 

 

 

You Will Know Me Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780316231077
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little Brown and Company - July 26th, 2016


The audacious new novel about family and ambition from "one of the best living mystery writers" (Grantland) and bestselling, award-winning author of The Fever, Megan Abbott.


Staff Pick Logo
Cooking for Picasso Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9780399177651
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - August 9th, 2016

For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist's life.


Staff Pick Logo
The Strangler Vine Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780425280744
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 23rd, 2016

A FINALIST FOR THE EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL
A "WASHINGTON POST" NOTABLE BOOK OF 2015
LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2014
Set in the untamed wilds of nineteenth-century colonial India, a dazzling historical thriller introducing an unforgettable investigative pair.


The Eyre Affair Cover Image
$13.60
ISBN: 9780142001806
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - February 25th, 2003

The first installment in Jasper Fforde's New York Times bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England


Midnight in Peking: How the Murder of a Young Englishwoman Haunted the Last Days of Old China Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780143123361
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - April 30th, 2013

Winner of the both the Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime and the CWA Non-Fiction Dagger

Chronicling an incredible unsolved murder, "Midnight in Peking" captures the aftermath of the brutal killing of a British schoolgirl in January 1937.


In the Woods Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780143113492
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - May 27th, 2008

A gripping thriller andNew York Timesbestseller from the acclaimed author ofBroken HarborandThe Secret Place


Staff Pick Logo
Good as Gone Cover Image
$18.40
ISBN: 9780544920958
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - July 26th, 2016

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe.


Staff Pick Logo
A Few Right Thinking Men Cover Image
$12.76
ISBN: 9781464206375
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Poisoned Pen Press - June 7th, 2016

Not Miss Fisher, but Mr. Sinclair
Meet Rowland Sinclair, gentleman and artist living in 1931 Sydney. Friend of the Left, son of the Right, he paints in a superbly tailored, three-piece suit and houses friends who include a poet, a painter, and a feminist sculptress whom he has painted nude and hung it in the drawing room. Is he perhaps in love with Edna? If so, she isn t having any.


Staff Pick Logo
The Glorious Heresies Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9780804189064
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tim Duggan Books - August 9th, 2016

From Lisa McInerney, hailed by The Irish Times as arguably the most talented writer at work in Ireland today, comes The Glorious Heresies, a searing debut novel about life on the fringes of Ireland's post-crash society.


Staff Pick Logo
The House Between Tides Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9781501126918
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - August 2nd, 2016

An atmospheric debut novel about a woman who discovers the century-old remains of a murder victim on her family's Scottish estate, plunging her into an investigation of its mysterious former occupants.


Black Run: A Rocco Schiavone Mystery Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062310057
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Paperbacks - July 5th, 2016

Staff Pick Logo
The Last One Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9781101965085
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - July 12th, 2016

Survival is the name of the game as the line blurs between reality TV and reality itself in Alexandra Oliva's fast-paced novel of suspense.
She wanted an adventure. She never imagined it would go this far.


The Butcher's Boy Cover Image
By Thomas Perry, Michael Connelly (Foreword by)
$13.60
ISBN: 9780812967739
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade - June 10th, 2003

The Edgar Award winning novel by the master of nail-biting suspense ("Los Angeles Times")
Thomas Perry exploded onto the literary scene with "The Butcher's Boy." Back in print by popular demand, this spectacular debut, from a writer of infernal ingenuity ("The New York Times Book Review"), includes a new Introduction by bestselling author Michael Connelly.


The Drifter Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780425283257
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - August 9th, 2016

An explosive thriller debut introducing Peter Ash, a veteran who finds that the demons of war aren t easily left behind . . .


Staff Pick Logo
A Curious Beginning Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9780451476029
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - July 12th, 2016

In her thrilling new series, Deanna Raybourn, the "New York Times" bestselling author of the Lady Julia Grey mysteries, returns once more to Victorian England...and introduces intrepid adventuress Veronica Speedwell.


Staff Pick Logo
Dr. Knox Cover Image
$21.56
ISBN: 9780307961273
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - July 12th, 2016

Peter Spiegelman sDr. Knoxis a bruised wonder of a crime novel. Filled with page-turning intrigue and an L.A. atmosphere so richly rendered you can practically smell the eucalyptus and dust, it is both thrilling and rueful, harrowing and moving. DON'T MISS IT
Megan Abbott, award-winning author ofThe Fever


Staff Pick Logo
The Wicked Boy: The Mystery of a Victorian Child Murderer Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9781594205781
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Press - July 12th, 2016

From the internationally bestselling author, a deeply researched and atmospheric murder mystery of late Victorian-era London


The Woman in Cabin 10 Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9781501132933
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - July 19th, 2016

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER
FROM THE AUTHOR OF IN A DARK, DARK WOOD
Featured in TheSkimm
An Entertainment Weekly Summer Must List Pick
A New York Post Summer Must-Read Pick
Included in Summer Book Guides from Bustle, Oprah.com, PureWow, and USA TODAY


Staff Pick Logo
Dancing with the Tiger Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780399175176
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Marian Wood Books/Putnam - July 12th, 2016

Taut, acidly witty, menacingly erotic, and often absolutely terrifying: this is a literary thriller of propulsive force that introduces a powerful storyteller.


Staff Pick Logo
Chasing the Dead Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780143129615
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - July 19th, 2016

Missing persons investigator David Raker's heartstopping hunt for a mother's vanished son book one of Tim Weaver's international bestselling mystery series
One year ago, Alex Towne's body was found. One month ago, his mother saw him on the street. One week ago, David Raker agreed to look for him. Now he wishes he hadn t.