New Paperbacks 01/18/2017

Shaker: A Thriller Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780345805706
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard - January 24th, 2017

This gripping, darkly funny debut thriller from acclaimed screenwriter Scott Frank is "an L.A. story with a little bit of Elmore] Leonard, a little bit of Day of the Locust, and a whole lot of earthquakes" (Interview).


Glaxo Cover Image
By Hernan Ronsino, Samuel Rutter (Translator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781612195674
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Melville House Publishing - January 17th, 2017

Glaxo is a chilling novel of betrayal, romance, and murder, from a major Latin American writer being published in English for the first time.


Silver Bullets Cover Image
By Elmer Mendoza, Mark Fried (Translator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781681446134
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Maclehose Press Quercus - January 17th, 2017

It's just another day at the office for Detective Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta: abandoned by the woman he loves, demoralized by his city's (nad his nation's) ubiquitous corruption, and in dire need of some psychotherapy. Against this backdrop, he catches the case of Bruno Canizales, a high-powered lawyer with a double life, who was killed by a single silver bullet.


A Very Expensive Poison: The Assassination of Alexander Litvinenko and Putin's War with the West Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101973998
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - January 24th, 2017

A true story of murder and conspiracy that points directly to Vladimir Putin, by The Guardian's former Moscow bureau chief.


Midnight Sun Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780804172578
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard - January 24th, 2017

Ulf has one small problem--his former boss, Oslo's most notorious drug kingpin, wants him dead.


Jane and the Waterloo Map Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616957995
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Soho Crime - January 24th, 2017

Jane Austen turns sleuth in this delightful Regency-era mystery


This Is Not Over Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062456830
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow & Company - January 17th, 2017

You'll have your deposit within seven business days, just like it says on Getaway.com. I've put through a refund to your credit card for the full amount, minus $200 to replace the stained sheets...

Miranda


Sleeping Giants Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101886717
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Del Rey Books - January 24th, 2017

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery--and a fight to control a gargantuan power.


The Widow Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101990476
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - January 17th, 2017

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A twisted psychological thriller you'll have trouble putting down."--People


The Language of Secrets: A Mystery Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250055170
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - January 10th, 2017

Detective Esa Khattak heads up Canada's Community Policing Section, which handles minority-sensitive cases across all levels of law enforcement. Khattak is still under scrutiny for his last case, so he's surprised when INSET, Canada's national security team, calls him in on another politically sensitive issue.


Dreamless Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250080752
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - January 10th, 2017

A promising young singer is found dead in a clearing in a forest, gruesomely murdered her larynx cut out, and an antique music box placed carefully atop her body, playing a mysterious lullaby that sounds familiar, but that no one can quite place. Chief Inspector Odd Singsaker, of the Trondheim Police Department, still recovering from brain surgery, is called in to investigate.


The Crooked House Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250117908
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador USA - January 10th, 2017

In the chilling tradition of Daphne du Maurier and with the acuity of Kate Atkinson comes a haunting, psychological thriller about one woman's search for the truth about her past through a closed community full of dark secrets.


Once a Crooked Man Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250112064
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - January 10th, 2017

Darkly comedic. New York Post

Crime pays. And pays well.

Sal, Max, and Enzo Bruschetti have proved this over a lifetime of nefarious activity that they have kept hidden from law enforcement. Now, however, Max has a problem. His doctor has told him to take it easy, and so Max has decided that the time has come for the family to retire.


City of the Lost: A Rockton Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250092168
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - January 17th, 2017

Casey Duncan is a homicide detective with a secret: when she was in college, she killed a man. She was never caught, but he was the grandson of a mobster and she knows that someday this crime will catch up to her. Casey's best friend, Diana, is on the run from a violent, abusive ex-husband.