New Hardback Releases for 8/26/2014

The Long Way Home Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250022066
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - August 26th, 2014

Happily retired in the village of Three Pines, Armand Gamache, former Chief Inspector of Homicide with the Surete du Quebec, has found a peace he'd only imagined possible. On warm summer mornings he sits on a bench holding a small book, " The Balm in Gilead, " in his large hands. "There is a balm in Gilead," his neighbor Clara Morrow reads from the dust jacket, "to make the wounded whole."


The Getaway God: A Sandman Slim Novel Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780062094612
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Voyager - August 26th, 2014

Sandman Slim must save himself--and the entire world--from the wrath of some enraged and vengeful ancient gods in this sixth high-octane adventure in the New York Times bestselling series.


Hold the Dark Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9780871406675
Availability: Special Order
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - September 8th, 2014

At the start of another pitiless winter, the wolves have come for the children of Keelut. Three children have been taken from this isolated Alaskan village, including the six-year-old boy of Medora and Vernon Slone.

Stumbled by grief and seeking consolation, Medora contacts nature writer and wolf expert Russell Core.


The White Van Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9780802123046
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - September 2014

At a dive bar in San Francisco's edgy Tenderloin district, drug-hustling Emily Rosario is drinking whiskey and looking for an escape from her desperate lifestyle. When she is approached by a Russian businessman, she thinks she might have found her exit. A week later--drugged, disoriented and wanted for robbery--Emily finds herself on the run for her life.


The Miniaturist Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062306814
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco Press - August 26th, 2014

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam--a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion--a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . ."


Revenge of Superstition Mountain Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780805089097
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - August 26th, 2014

In the third and final book in this action-packed trilogy, the Barker brothers and their good friend Delilah secretly climb up to Superstition Mountain one last time. There are still mysteries to solve is the creepy librarian really the ghost of Julia Thomas from a century before? What was their uncle Hank's role in discovering the gold mine?


Death of a Dog Whisperer Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780758284556
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Kensington Publishing Corporation - August 26th, 2014

"If you like dogs, you'll love Laurien Berenson's Melanie Travis mysteries " --Joanne Fluke, "New York Times "bestselling author
Between her boisterous sons and a house full of Poodles, there's never a dull moment for Melanie Travis. But no matter how hectic life gets, she can always pick up the scent of a howling good mystery--and she'll stop at nothing to dig up the truth. . .


Don't Let Go Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062102966
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - August 26th, 2014

In this pulse-pounding final installment of the Don't Turn Around trilogy, which Kirkus Reviews called "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo for teens, a surefire hit," Noa and Peter race across the country in their search to destroy Project Persephone before time runs out.


How to Fall Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250040657
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - August 26th, 2014

Sixteen-year-old Jess Tennant has never met any of her relatives, until her mom suddenly drags her out of London to spend the summer in the tiny English town where her family's from. Her mom's decision is surprising, but even more surprising is the town's reaction to Jess. Everywhere she goes, people look at her like they've seen a ghost.


Keep Your Friends Close Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9780802123206
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Grove Press - August 19th, 2014

Shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel of the Year
From breakout thriller writer Paula Daly, the story of a husband and wife and the devious best friend who comes between them.


The Minotaur's Head Cover Image
By Marek Krajewski, Danusia Stok (Translator)
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781612193427
Availability: Special Order
Published: Melville House Publishing - August 26th, 2014

The fourth volume in the Inspector Eberhard Mock Quintet, the series called "As Noir as it gets" by the The Independent.


The Iron Sickle Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781616953911
Availability: Special Order
Published: Soho Crime - August 26th, 2014

When a U.S. Army Claims officer stationed in South Korea is murdered in grisly fashion the roustabout duo of George Sueno and Ernie Bascom go against orders to track a calculating killer.


Gangsterland Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781619023444
Availability: Special Order
Published: Counterpoint LLC - September 9th, 2014

Sal Cupertine is a legendary hit man for the Chicago Mafia, known for his ability to get in and out of a crime without a trace. Until now, that is. His first-ever mistake forces Sal to botch an assassination, killing three undercover FBI agents in the process. This puts too much heat on Sal, and he knows this botched job will be his death sentence to the Mafia.


Lisette's List Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781400068173
Availability: Special Order
Published: Random House - August 26th, 2014

From Susan Vreeland, bestselling author of such acclaimed novels as "Girl in Hyacinth Blue, Luncheon of the Boating Party, "and" Clara and Mr. Tiffany, "comes a richly imagined story of a woman's awakening in the south of Vichy France to the power of art, to the beauty of provincial life, and to love in the midst of war.


A Dancer in the Dust Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9780802122728
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Mysterious Press - August 19th, 2014

Twenty years ago, Ray Campbell, now a cautious risk-management consultant, was a well-intentioned aid worker dedicated to improving conditions in Lubanda, a newly independent African country. He is forced to reconsider that year of living dangerously when a friend from his time in Lubanda is found murdered in a New York alley.


Darkness, Darkness Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781605986166
Availability: Special Order
Published: Pegasus Books - September 15th, 2014

Charlie Resnick, recently promoted to Detective Inspector and ambivalent, at best, about some of the police tactics used in the Strike, had run an surveillance-gathering unit at the heart of the dispute Now, in virtual retirement, the discovery of the body of a young woman who disappeared during the Strike brings Resnick back to the front line to assist in the investigation into the woman's murder


Haunted Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9780399169762
Availability: Special Order
Published: Putnam Adult - August 19th, 2014

Hannah Smith returns in the stunning new adventure in the "New York Times"-bestselling series from the author of the Doc Ford novels.


The Furies Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781250048004
Availability: Special Order
Published: St. Martin's Press - August 26th, 2014

"Steady pacing paired with well-timed foreshadowing and fully realized characters make this one compelling from the beginning. Fans of Donna Tartt's "The Secret History" (1992), Erin Kelly's "The Poison Tree" (2011), and Tana French's "The Likeness" (2008) will likely enjoy the new perspective Haynes' conversational style offers to similar material." "Booklist"


Summer of the Dead Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781250044730
Availability: Special Order
Published: Minotaur Books - August 26th, 2014

High summer in Acker's Gap, West Virginia but no one's enjoying the rugged natural landscape. Not while a killer stalks the small town and its hard-luck inhabitants. County prosecutor Bell Elkins and Sheriff Nick Fogelsong are stymied by a murderer who seems to come and go like smoke on the mountain.


Assassin's Game Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780765336729
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Forge - August 26th, 2014

A high-octane thriller from Ward Larsen, the author of "The Perfect Assassin."

David Slaton has a good life. He has a new wife and a house in the Virginia suburbs. But he also has a dark past. Slaton is a former "kidon," the most lethal Israeli assassin ever created.


Strange Shores: An Inspector Erlendur Novel Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781250000408
Availability: Special Order
Published: Minotaur Books - August 26th, 2014

"Arnaldur Indridason is already an international literary phenom and it's easy to see why. His novels are gripping, authentic, haunting, and lyrical. I can't wait for the next." Harlan Coben