McKenna's Staff Picks

McKenna Jordan, Store Owner at Murder By The Book since 2003

McKenna has her Bachelor's Degree in English and a Master's in Violin Performance from University of Houston. She's owned Murder By The Book since January 2009.

Some of McKenna's favorite authors; Megan Abbott, Cara Black, Ken Bruen, Kerry Greenwood, Charlaine Harris, Carolyn Haines, Peter Lovesey, Daniel Silva, Jacqueline Winspear.

McKenna's 2016 Top 10 (In no particular order):

You Will Know Me by Megan Abbott
The Dollhouse by Fiona Davis
Chalk Circle Man by Fred Vargas*
Orphan X by Gregg Hurwitz
I'm Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid
Black Run by Antonio Manzini
Closed Casket - Sophie Hannah
Under the Harrow - Flynn Berry
Dancing with the Tiger - Lili Wright
The Woman in Cabin 10 - Ruth Ware

*Not released in 2016

Staff Pick Logo
The Charmers Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250058218
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - May 30th, 2017

New in paperback, this escapist romp through the South of France is a perfect beach read!
When Mirabella Matthews, a young Londoner, inherits her Aunt Jolly’s Villa Romantica, she’s
excited to say the least. But when she’s nearly run off the winding hilly road in what seems very
little like an accident, she realizes maybe there are those who don’t want her in the villa, and
who might stop at nothing to make that happen. Enter a Russian billionaire thug, a dashing
next-door neighbor, and a mysterious young woman who happens to be in the right place at the
wrong time, and you’ve got a fabulous, lush mystery full of romance, high-society and danger.
Highly recommended for fans of C. A. Belmond and Kerry Greenwood! - McKenna


Staff Pick Logo
The Child Finder Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062659057
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - September 5th, 2017

A strong contender for my favorite book of 2017! - McKenna


Final Girls Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781101985366
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books - July 11th, 2017

THE NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

"The first great thriller of 2017 is here: Final Girls, by Riley Sager. If you liked Gone Girl, you'll like this."--Stephen King


Staff Pick Logo
He Said/She Said Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250113696
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - June 6th, 2017

This is a strong contender for my favorite book of the year. Full stop. Kit and Laura are eclipse
chasers. They travel the world, taking part in eclipse-viewing festivals, seeking out the moment
of the totality - when the moon completely covers the sun. It’s in the moments immediately
following the totality in Cornwall, 1999, that they witness a man assaulting a woman. In that
moment, they call for help, become witnesses for the woman, and in future years they help her
in the legal battles against her assailant. Now, 15 years later, Kit and Laura are living in hiding -
with assumed names, and running from their past. As time has gone by, Kit and Laura wonder if
they trusted the right person. It was her word against his… Told in alternating voices between
Kit and Laura, present and past, this slow burn of a thriller is an exquisitely compelling and well-
written read. My highest recommendation! Also recommended by Sally and Brenda! - McKenna


The Lying Game Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781501156007
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - July 25th, 2017

New York Times Bestseller

From the instant New York Times bestselling author of blockbuster thrillers In a Dark, Dark Wood and The Woman in Cabin 10 comes Ruth Ware's chilling new novel, The Lying Game.