John's Staff Picks

John Kwiatkowski, Event Coordinator at Murder By The Book since 2010

In previous career incarnations, John has sold model and toy trains, and been a barista.  Prior to joining the Murder By The Book team he managed one of the local chain bookstores.  When his nose isn't in a book he loves going to concerts, seeing musicals, going to Las Vegas, and spending afternoons in Hermann Park.

John's favorite authors include: Arturo Perez-Reverte, Tasha Alexander, Kelley Armstrong, Melissa Marr, Daphne Du Maurier, Wilkie Collins, Jacqueline Susann, Victoria Laurie, Beatriz Williams, and Jon Steele.

John's 2016 Top 10:

1. What We Become by Arturo Perez Reverte
2. The After Party by Anton DiSlafani
3. American Heiress by Jeffrey Toobin
4. A Fine Imitation by Amber Brock
5. The Assistants by Camille Perri
6. The Dollhouse by Fiona Davis
7. A Terrible Beauty by Tasha Alexander
8. A Certain Age by Beatriz Williams
9. American Housewife by Helen Ellis
10. Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye 


John Top YA/MG of 2016 (in no particular order):

The Other Boy by M.G. Hennessey
The Great American Whatever by Tim Federle 
The Gallery by Laura Marx Fitzgerald
Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine
It Wasn't Always Like This by Joy Preble

 

Late in the Year Discovery (aka: Why Didn't I Read This Sooner?!)

The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee

Staff Pick Logo
Borrowed Souls: A Soul Charmer Novel Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781940456829
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Talos - May 2nd, 2017

 In Mueller's world, you can rent soulsto keep your own clean while you get up to mischief. Callie must save her brother, and that requires renting a soul, and she lacks the funds to do that. In exchange for a soul, she gets roped into working to help collect souls that are past their return date. Fans of Patricia Briggs, Stacia Kane, and Jaye Wells will love this new debut. - John

Chelsea Mueller will sign at MBTB on Saturday, May 20th at 4:30 p.m.


Staff Pick Logo
I Found You Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501154591
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - April 25th, 2017

Alice finds a strange man on the beach. He has no memory of who he is or how he got there. Against her better judgement, she brings him home to help him figure out who he is. Lily's husband never came home from work, and as she reports him missing she learns that she didn't know him very well at all. 

Fast-paced, immediately gripping, and just fun! I couldn't gulp this one down fast enough. - John 

 


Staff Pick Logo
The Weekenders Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250065964
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - May 2nd, 2017

A perfect mix of Mary Kay Andrews's earlier mysteries and her more current beach reads! Like all of her books, it's filled with humor, and a lot of heart. - John


The Girl Who Knew Too Much Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399174476
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - May 9th, 2017

Signed copies available!


Staff Pick Logo
The Night the Lights Went Out Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780451488381
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - April 11th, 2017

There's heart, there's humor, there's drama. And make sure you clear your calendar before you start the last 100 pages. My heart was pounding as I got near the end, and I didn't want to put the book down! - John

Signed copies available!