John's Staff Picks

John Kwiatkowski, Event Coordinator at Murder By The Book since 2010

In previous career incarnations, John has sold model and toy trains, and been a barista.  Prior to joining the Murder By The Book team he managed one of the local chain bookstores.  When his nose isn't in a book he loves going to concerts, seeing musicals, going to Las Vegas, and spending afternoons in Hermann Park.

John's favorite authors include: Arturo Perez-Reverte, Tasha Alexander, Kelley Armstrong, Melissa Marr, Daphne Du Maurier, Wilkie Collins, Jacqueline Susann, Victoria Laurie, Beatriz Williams, and Jon Steele.

John's 2016 Top 10:

1. What We Become by Arturo Perez Reverte
2. The After Party by Anton DiSlafani
3. American Heiress by Jeffrey Toobin
4. A Fine Imitation by Amber Brock
5. The Assistants by Camille Perri
6. The Dollhouse by Fiona Davis
7. A Terrible Beauty by Tasha Alexander
8. A Certain Age by Beatriz Williams
9. American Housewife by Helen Ellis
10. Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye 


John Top YA/MG of 2016 (in no particular order):

The Other Boy by M.G. Hennessey
The Great American Whatever by Tim Federle 
The Gallery by Laura Marx Fitzgerald
Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine
It Wasn't Always Like This by Joy Preble

 

Late in the Year Discovery (aka: Why Didn't I Read This Sooner?!)

The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee

Staff Pick Logo
The Weekenders Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250065964
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - May 2nd, 2017

A perfect mix of Mary Kay Andrews's earlier mysteries and her more current beach reads! Like all of her books, it's filled with humor, and a lot of heart. - John


Staff Pick Logo
I Found You Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501154591
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - April 25th, 2017

Alice finds a strange man on the beach. He has no memory of who he is or how he got there. Against her better judgement, she brings him home to help him figure out who he is. Lily's husband never came home from work, and as she reports him missing she learns that she didn't know him very well at all. 

Fast-paced, immediately gripping, and just fun! I couldn't gulp this one down fast enough. - John 

 


Staff Pick Logo
Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501116841
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - June 13th, 2017

Goodreads Debut Author of the Month and an Indie Next Pick

"Sullivan's debut is a page-turner featuring a heroine bookseller who solves a cold case with clues from books--what is not to love?" --Nina George, author of The Little French Bistro, and the New York Times bestselling The Little Paris Bookshop


The Girl Who Knew Too Much Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399174476
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - May 9th, 2017

Signed copies available!


The End of Temperance Dare Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781477824115
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lake Union Publishing - June 6th, 2017

Haunting and atmospheric, The End of Temperance Dare is another thrilling page-turner from the author reviewers are calling the Queen of the Northern Gothic.


Staff Pick Logo
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501139239
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - June 13th, 2017

Why has Hollywood icon Evelyn Hugo briefly stepped back into the spotlight to auction of some of her most famous gowns? And why has insisted on an unknown reporter to tell her story? Monique asks herself the same question as she meets with Evelyn. 

This book is exquisite. It's moving, it's dishy, it's heartbreaking. Evelyn Hugo is so fully realized that you will forget that she's a fictional character. She's completely in control of her destiny, sometimes to her own detriment, and you can't help but root for her. 

I picked this up because I wanted a fun read, and found myself incredibly moved in a way I wasn't expecting. Having finished the book, I'm sad that I can't have an Evelyn Hugo movie marathon. Taylor Jenkins Reid has taken the trope of the Old Hollywood biography and infused it with heart. - John


Staff Pick Logo
Borrowed Souls: A Soul Charmer Novel Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781940456829
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Talos - May 2nd, 2017

 In Mueller's world, you can rent soulsto keep your own clean while you get up to mischief. Callie must save her brother, and that requires renting a soul, and she lacks the funds to do that. In exchange for a soul, she gets roped into working to help collect souls that are past their return date. Fans of Patricia Briggs, Stacia Kane, and Jaye Wells will love this new debut. - John

Chelsea Mueller will sign at MBTB on Saturday, May 20th at 4:30 p.m.