February Staff Picks 20% Off

We've picked 20 of our favorite reads, and they're 20% off for the month of February!

Blacklands Cover Image
$12.79
ISBN: 9781439149454
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - January 11th, 2011

A couple of years ago, I was wandering looking for something to read (like I don't have enough already) and McKenna handed me Blacklands. Now, I would like to hand it to you to read, you'll be back for more of her books! - Sally


The City of Falling Angels Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9780143036937
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - September 26th, 2006

Twelve years ago, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil exploded into a monumental success, residing a record-breaking four years on the New York Times bestseller list (longer than any work of fiction or nonfiction had before) and turning John Berendt into a household name.


Staff Pick Logo
People of the Book Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780143115007
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - December 30th, 2008

One of my all-time favorite books!  Hanna Heath, an Australian rare book restorer, is offered the job of restoring the Sarajevo Haggadah, an ancient Jewish illustrated volume. The year is 1996, and as Hanna begins the tedious process of loosening the binding, she finds several tiny artifacts -- wine stains, a white hair, an insect wing fragment and salt crystals. What's the story of each?

This is where Geraldine Brooks shines. She expertly takes us back in time to each restoration of the Haggadah...where at each a tiny artifact finds its way into the binding of the Haggadah. Based on a true event, Brooks has written an amazing historical novel. My highest recommendation! - Brenda


Staff Pick Logo
The Queen of the Night Cover Image
$12.76
ISBN: 9780544925472
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - November 1st, 2016

Reading this, I felt like I spent two weeks inside the most extravagent opera, and I loved every second of it. - John


Staff Pick Logo
City of Dark Magic Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780143122685
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - November 27th, 2012

City of Dark Magic is a fun read with old castles, mysterious drugs, family secrets, Beethoven, a 400 year old dwarf, conspiracies, and a little romance thrown in. - John (also highly recommended by McKenna!).

Don't miss Meg Howrey (half of Magnus Flyte) signing on 3/20!


Staff Pick Logo
The Dinosaur Feather Cover Image
By S. J. Gazan, Charlotte Barslund (Translator)
$12.79
ISBN: 9781623658588
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quercus Books - November 4th, 2014

Anna is a phd student doing work on the origins of birds when her thesis adviser is found dead with a copy of her thesis in his lap. Days later, another scholar is found dead and Anna is the only link. Full of mysterious parasites, severed tongues, and academic intrigue, The Dinosaur Feather is one of a kind. - Sam (also highly recommended by McKenna!)


Staff Pick Logo
Different Class Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9781501155512
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Touchstone Books - January 3rd, 2017

A demented Dead Poets Society. The ghosts of the past haunt St Oswalds Boys School, and the new headmaster is one of those ghosts. A diabolically good read.  - Sam


Staff Pick Logo
IQ Cover Image
By Joe Ide
$20.80
ISBN: 9780316267724
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mulholland Books - October 18th, 2016

Isiah Quintabe - IQ - is the high school dropout, Sherlock Holmes of crime ridden East Long Beach. Don't miss this debut, Ide is going to be a major force in crime for years to come. - Sam


A Drink Before the War Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062049100
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - April 26th, 2011

As richly complex and brutal as the terrain it depicts, here is the mesmerizing, darkly original novel that heralded the arrival of Dennis Lehane, the master of the new noir and introduced Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro, his smart and tough private investigators weaned on the blue-collar streets of Dorchester.


Staff Pick Logo
The Secret Lives of Codebreakers: The Men and Women Who Cracked the Enigma Code at Bletchley Park Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780452298712
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Plume Books - September 25th, 2012

After tearing my way through Susan Elia MacNeal's Maggie Hope series, I was curious about Bletchley Park and codebreaking. I was immediately fascinated by how the recruits came from all aspects of society and were not just mathematicians. McKay throws the reader into daily life and covers all aspects of what happened at Bletchley. This non-fiction read is a great companion to any WWII mystery! - John (also recommended by Sally!)


Staff Pick Logo
Plaid and Plagiarism Cover Image
$20.76
ISBN: 9781681772561
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pegasus Books - December 6th, 2016

A group of women buy a beloved bookstore in Scotland, and quickly find themselves trying to solve the murder of a local reporter. A charming read, perfect for fans of Sheila Connolly's County Cork mysteries. - John


The Oxford Murders Cover Image
By Guillermo Martinez, Sonia Soto (Translator)
$12.00
ISBN: 9780143037965
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - September 26th, 2006

Two mathematicians must join forces to stop a serial killer in this spellbinding international bestseller


Staff Pick Logo
The Piano Tuner Cover Image
$12.76
ISBN: 9781400030385
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - August 19th, 2003

A favorite of mine for many years. Not really a mystery,it's a wonderful and intoxicating read about a piano tuner who has never traveled and has to go to Burma to tune a piano for an eccentric British officer in 1886. - Sally


Staff Pick Logo
The Last Days of Night Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9780812988901
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - August 16th, 2016

Part historical, part legal thriller. Set in turn-of-the-century New York, this book is about the invention of electricity and the bloody battle (both literally and legally) that followed. From the author of The Imitation Game. - Sam


Staff Pick Logo
Snow White Must Die Cover Image
By Nele Neuhaus, Steven T. Murray (Translator)
$13.59
ISBN: 9781250039774
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - December 24th, 2013

Tobias, newly released from prison after serving 10 years for the disappearance of two teenagers from his town, has come home. Although he was convicted, Tobias was drunk the night the girls went missing and doesn't know for sure if he was involved in their disappearance. Newly home, another girl goes missing...has Tobias committed another crime? Residents of the village are quick to blame Tobias, but police officers Pia Kirchhoff and Oliver von Bodenstein need to find the truth...and, the missing girl. - Brenda


Staff Pick Logo
The Blood Strand: A Faroes Novel Cover Image
$11.96
ISBN: 9781783297047
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Titan Books (UK) - February 16th, 2016

Very atmospheric, bleak and well-written, pick up a copy of The Blood Strand...it's a good read! - Brenda


Staff Pick Logo
Black Maps Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781400033591
Availability: Special Order
Published: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard - May 31st, 2005

The first John March book. March is a high finance guy turned rural sheriff who finds himself dragged back into the seedy world of white collar corruption. One of my favorite P.I. thrillers of all time! - Sam


Staff Pick Logo
Still Missing Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780312573577
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Griffin - May 24th, 2011

Still Missing is Chevy Stevens debut.Told from the point of view of a women who was kidnapped and managed to escape, it's a fascinating take on the abducted woman story. For fans of Laura Lippman. Excellent read. She's coming to MBTB on March 15th for her latest book! - Sally


Staff Pick Logo
Plague Land: A Somershill Manor Mystery Cover Image
$12.76
ISBN: 9781605989808
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pegasus Books - April 4th, 2016

An excellent medieval mystery about a young man whose life takes an unexpected turn and then a young woman is found brutally murdered on his land. Excellent plot, well written and is the start of a series! - Sally


Staff Pick Logo
The Detective's Daughter Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781781850763
Availability: Special Order
Published: Head of Zeus - September 15th, 2015

Stella Darnell, daughter of Detective Chief Inspector Superintendent Darnell, begins the process of clearing out her dad's house after his death and comes across a 30-year-old case file. Thinking she will just read through his notes and shred the whole file, Stella soon knows she has to solve this case...the one that haunted her dad for 30 years. A complex story with dark characters, I am looking forward to the next episode from Thomson.  Perfect for Peter James and M. J. Arlidge fans! - Brenda