Current Hardcover Bestsellers

December 2016 Bestselling Hardcovers

(Click here to see our 2016 bestsellers) 

(signed copies are all first printings unless noted) 

The Seventh Plague Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062381682
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow & Company - December 13th, 2016

In a breathtaking blend of scientific intrigue and historical mystery, #1 New York Times bestselling mastermind James Rollins reveals an ancient threat hidden within the pages of the Bible, one that threatens the modern world in The Seventh Plague If the biblical plagues of Egypt truly happened could they happen again on a global scale?


$100.00
SKU: 9781938570131

Signed, Numbered, Limited Edition Copies Available


The Lost Property Office Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481467094
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 8th, 2016

James R. Hannibal presents a thrilling adventure through history, complete with mysteries, secret items, codes, and a touch of magic in this stunning middle grade debut.


Staff Pick Logo
A Gentleman in Moscow Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780670026197
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - September 6th, 2016

A New York Times bestseller
Chosen as a best book of the year by NPR, The Washington Post, The Chicago Tribune, The San Francisco Chronicle, and The Philadelphia Inquirer
The same gorgeous, layered richness that marked Towles debut, Rules of Civility, shapes A Gentleman in Moscow] Entertainment Weekly


The Mistletoe Murder: And Other Stories Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780451494146
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - October 25th, 2016

Four previously uncollected stories from one of the great mystery writers of our time--swift, cunning murder mysteries (two of which feature the young Adam Dalgliesh) that together, to borrow the author's own word, add up to a delightful "entertainment."


The Wrong Side of Goodbye Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780316225946
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little Brown and Company - November 1st, 2016

Signed copies available 


$36.00
SKU: 9780755392353

A return to the period adventure thriller in WHERE DEAD MEN MEET re-establishes Mark Mills as: 'A master storyteller' Val McDermid. For fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming or Robert Harris Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton - a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy - finds himself the target of an assassination attempt.

A clear case of mistaken identity, or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding towards war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago. From the author of the bestselling THE SAVAGE GARDEN, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets and lies.


$28.00
SKU: 9781474601740

Giverny. During the day, tourists flock to the former home of the famous artist Claude Monet and the gardens where he painted his Water Lilies. But when silence returns, there is a darker side to the peaceful French village.

This is the story of thirteen days that begin with one murder and end with another. Jerome Morval, a man whose passion for art was matched only by his passion for women, has been found dead in the stream that runs through the gardens. In his pocket is a postcard of Monet's Water Lilies with the words: Eleven years old.

Happy Birthday. Entangled in the mystery are three women: a young painting prodigy, the seductive village schoolteacher and an old widow who watches over the village from a mill by the stream. All three of them share a secret.

But what do they know about the discovery of Jerome Morval's corpse? And what is the connection to the mysterious, rumoured painting of Black Water Lilies? 'This elegant crime mystery shimmers as delicately as the paintings of Claude Monet that lie at its heart ...A bestseller in France, it is a dazzling, unexpected and haunting masterpiece' Daily Mail An enchanting tale that kept me absolutely hooked as Bussi cleverly breaks all the perceived rules of plotting in a story containing riddles within riddles . ..stunning' Daily Express


$22.00
SKU: 9781780896618

FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENED BEFORE JAMIE MET CLAIRE IN THIS BRILLIANT NEW OUTLANDER SHORT STORY. 1740: Young Jamie Fraser has left Scotland and, with his best friend Ian Murray, is running with a band of mercenaries in France. Both men have good reason not to go back to their homeland: both are nursing wounds, and despite their best efforts to remedy the situation, both are still virgins.

So when a Jewish doctor hires them to escort his granddaughter to Paris, they readily agree. Both men are instantly drawn to the beautiful young lady. What neither know is that their lives and their friendships are about to become infinitely more complicated - and a lot more dangerous...

(This story was originally included in the George R.R. Martin anthology Dangerous Women)


Lost Houston Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781910496756
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pavilion Books - February 15th, 2016

A look at how the buildings, streets, and institutions that comprise Houston's cityscape have changed dramatically over the years, and the many that were lost along the way