Dead Ground in Between (MP3 CD)

Dead Ground in Between Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
Special Order

Description


From Canada's premier author of historical mysteries, Maureen Jennings, comes the haunting fourth novel in the DI Tom Tyler series. Set in Britain during the darkest days of World War II, this is a must-listen for fans of Foyle's War, Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs series, and wartime dramas.

It's late 1942; the war is still raging and the upcoming Christmas season looks bleak. Detective Inspector Tom Tyler is settling into his placement in Ludlow, Shropshire, a small town jammed with people sent there by the conflict. On the outskirts is an Italian PoW camp and many PoWs work on local farms where manpower is sorely needed. Fraternizing is forbidden but, as Tyler knows only too well, the human heart has a way of crossing boundaries.

Tyler's job is both to keep the peace and to enforce wartime regulations. Magistrate's court is busy. Then a troubled old man goes missing in a winter storm. The next day his body is discovered in a secret hideout supposedly known to very few. It soon becomes clear that a crime has been committed, and there is no shortage of suspects. Tyler senses that the two evacuee children who found the body are not telling the entire truth, but when he goes to question them further, he learns they have taken off from their foster home. It becomes imperative that he find them.

Showcasing her characteristic masterful storytelling and deep empathy for her characters - from the bravest and most blameless to the profoundly troubled - Jennings has created another outstanding novel that is both a mystery and a rich, satisfying listening experience.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781543641226
ISBN-10: 1543641229
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance
Publication Date: August 22nd, 2017
Language: English
Series: Detective Inspector Tom Tyler Mysteries