The Last to See Me (Hardcover)

The Last to See Me Cover Image
$22.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

An American ghost story, told from the ghost's point of view, both as a ghost and while she was alive. With both a past and present time-line, we learn about Emma Rose's life and  the events that lead up to to her death and her determination not to leave the mansion she has lived in for a hundred years. Now, a ghost hunter has come to clear the house and Emma Rose is just as determined to stay there. 

Not a conventional ghost story, The Last to See Me is a beautifully told tale of love and loss and missed chances.  I missed her when I finished the book. I think you will  as well.

The Last to See Me is in contention for my favorite book of the year! - Sally

— From Sally's Staff Picks

An American ghost story, told from the ghost's point of view, both as a ghost and while she was alive. With both a past and present time-line, we learn about Emma Rose's life and  the events that lead up to to her death and her determination not to leave the mansion she has lived in for a hundred years. Now, a ghost hunter has come to clear the house and Emma Rose is just as determined to stay there. Not a conventional ghost story, The Last to See Me is a beautifully told tale of love and loss and missed chances. I missed her when I finished the book. I think you will as well. The Last to See Me is in contention for my favorite book of the year! - Sally

— From M. Dressler

Description


For fans of Lauren Oliver and Kazuo Ishiguro, The Last to See Me is a spellbinding American ghost story deftly weaving past and present into an unforgettable narrative about a young woman's fight for a life of her own--long after her life is over.

Over one hundred years ago, Emma Rose Finnis was born and died in the remote northern California town she now haunts. When she was alive, she was a lowly chambermaid and worse, a Finnis. Now, no one remembers her hardworking life and her grand dreams--because there are none left to remember. In a world where phantoms are considered "unclean," the spirits of her town have already been removed. All except Emma Rose.

But when a determined hunter arrives with instructions to extinguish her once and for all, Emma Rose refuses to be hounded from her haunt, the stately Lambry Mansion. She's earned her place and she'll keep it--even if it means waging a war on the living. After all, she's got nothing left to lose. The same might not be said for those who still enjoy the luxury of a breath . . .

About the Author


M Dressler's work has been praised by the New York Times as "splendid" and by Library Journal as the writing of a "natural-born storyteller." She is the critically-acclaimed author of novels, novellas, and essays, and her stories and nonfiction have appeared in the Kenyon Review, Creative Nonfiction, and Lit Hub, among others. Her honors include the Fulbright Fellowship and the Paisano Fellowship in Literature, as well as writing residencies at Hedgebrook and the Carson McCullers Center. She is a professor and current writer-in-residence at Guilford College in North Carolina. She lives in Greensboro, North Carolina and in Moab, Utah.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781510720671
ISBN-10: 1510720677
Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
Publication Date: September 5th, 2017
Pages: 272
Language: English