Luckiest Girl Alive (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Logo
Luckiest Girl Alive Cover Image
$19.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Luckiest Girl Alive is Jessica Knoll's debut and it is a good one, full of secrets that are revealed slowly and carefully. We are introduced to our protagonist,Ani FaNellis as she shops with her fiance, Luke. He's old money, New England rich and Ani is about to enter a life she has imagined she always wanted. She has carefully acquired all the trappings and symbols of wealth and constructed a facade to go with it. Then,things start to crumble and secrets are revealed when Ani is asked to participate in a documentary about an incident that occurred when she was in high school. This book grabbed me from page one. Oh, and Reese Witherspoon has already opted in to produce the movie! 
 
For fans of Megan Abbott and Gillian Flynn. 

— Sally

May 2015 Indie Next List


“Ani FaNelli has worked hard to become the girl who succeeded. She has the right job, the right clothes, the right address, and even Mr. Right. It doesn't matter that it only works on the surface; the appearance is what will protect you when the truth comes out. Knoll has created a distinctly fierce and driven main character whose past is defined by a particularly modern kind of tragedy. The details are slowly revealed as Ani maneuvers her way up through the lingering trauma of this devastating teenage experience. I was caught up in an exciting mixture of suspicion, pity, and admiration for Ani, as Knoll explores whether that which does not kill us might make us stronger, and if the scars can ever fade away.”
— Kerry Spaulding (W), University Book Store, Mill Creek, WA

Description


The instant New York Times bestseller, a "non-stop, nail-biting book" (Reese Witherspoon) that follows an unforgettable young woman striving to create the perfect life until a violent incident from her past threatens to unravel everything and expose her most shocking secret--now available from Encore at a great price.

HER PERFECT LIFE IS A PERFECT LIE.

As a teenager at the prestigious Bradley School, Ani FaNelli endured a shocking, public humiliation that left her desperate to reinvent herself. Now, with a glamorous job, expensive wardrobe, and handsome blue blood fiance, she's this close to living the perfect life she's worked so hard to achieve.

But Ani has a secret.

There's something else buried in her past that still haunts her, something private and painful that threatens to bubble to the surface and destroy everything.

With a singular voice and twists you won't see coming, Luckiest Girl Alive explores the unbearable pressure that so many women feel to "have it all" and introduces a heroine whose sharp edges and cutthroat ambition have been protecting a scandalous truth, and a heart that's bigger than it first appears.

The question remains: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for--or, will it at long last, set Ani free?
Product Details
ISBN: 9781508216827
ISBN-10: 1508216827
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: April 5th, 2016
Language: English